Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Small demo please?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, this is my first time posting on the forum so thought I should say "hello" to you all before going into the rest of my post below:

Being new to DB, I have only made the demo FPS and have no concept of DB other than that. I have vast experience of VB though so don’t be afraid to use programming language, etc in your replies

What I’m after is a simple program to help me understand 3D manipulation of objects, etc in DB.

If possible would someone that frequents this board please make a demo of the following and leave it as a code snippet here?

Spacecraft demo:
* "Player" is a camera position always at centre of "universe"
* "Player" camera angle adjustable on X, Y & Z axis via mouse
* Object X spinning randomly on all 3 axis
* Object X moves instead of camera when "Player" moves (as-if "player" had moved)
* Visibility fades from 100% @ 80 "foot" -to- 0% @ 100 "foot"

IE: If there where 20 craft around "player" then "player" would stay centre of universe and all objects would move around "player" when it moved/turned.

My first thought was to use a fixed camera and rotate all objects around it instead of ever moving... but that could create a lot of lag when there are a lot of objects to move. My next thought was to let the camera rotate and just move objects along a trajectory relative to what "player" would have moved.

Feedback on this thinking would also be appreciated if possible

I hope this is not asking too much of the forum... but feedback on any/all of the above in demo snippets would be good

Trammel is a member of DWC multi-game gaming alliance
Dodo
Years of Service
User Offline