Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Bejewelled

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Apr 2005 18:04
Hi,

I am new to coding in Darkbasic pro and need a slight bit of help.

I was wondering if anyone had tried to do a version of the puzzle game bejewelled?

I wanted to have a go at making a version of it myself for my family to play in their spare time.

If anyone knows a link for it, or can give me some hints for where to start that would be great.

For anyone who doesnt know how the game works, it fills a grid with jewels of different types and you can swap around 2 jewels next to each other vertically or horizontally, but it only sticks if you can create a line of 3 or more jewels horizontally or vertically. If it works then the jewels dissapear and the above drop down and more are added to the top of the grid. it needs to check to see what matches can be made if any, and if there isnt then it ends.

Lots of extras can be added to it, i just want to try and get the grid working with the jewels first.

my idea so far is to have a bitmap with different jewels in it, and a matrix made on the screen.

Need to cut up the images and number them and place them on the matrix grids depending on the number.

Thats just theory though, i dont have much of an idea on how to do any of that.
Underworld 1020
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Apr 2005 00:45 Edited at: 7th Apr 2005 00:47
I'm actually working on that right now...take a look:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=47579&b=8

That's my second version, but I'm going to be working on it for a while, however you can actually play the first version:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=46795&b=5