Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Exchanging data back and forth between DBPro and VB

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2005 06:03
Greetings all...

Appologies if this has already been covered, but I struck out searching the forums and code base, so either I'm the first to ask about it or, more likely, I just did a crummy search

I'm a rusty old programmer with delusions of granduer (perhaps adequecy is more like it), and I'm just getting started with DBP. One of the things I'd like to do is be able to move data back and forth quickly from VB to DBP.

I recall that it was possible using DDE to pass data back and forth between enabled programs. My question (at last) is, is it possible to do this with DBP, and if not, is there something similar that can be done?

Thanks for any suggestion

"Do not worry too much about your difficulties in mathematics, I can assure you that mine are still greater." Albert Einstein
dre
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2005 11:17
Depends what kind of data, but you can use the notepad.

AMD Athlon 64 3400+, 1 gig PC3200 DDR, GeForce 6600 GT OC
TKF15H
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Apr 2005 11:38
it can be done... if you make a plugin for it. Dunno if anybody has tried this successfully before.

AphoticVM status: 30% (Yes, that number just went down.) AphoticBasic status: 10%
RiiDii
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Apr 2005 04:44
Clipboard can do it too - if you don't plan on using it for anything else in the meantime.

Also, writing to a text file and then reading it works pretty fast - so it would works as a way to pass data. Of course, your best bet is some type of dll.