Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Resident Evil...

Author
Message
Shadow Fox
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Mar 2005
Location:
Posted: 16th Apr 2005 07:01
Does anyone know how to start off on making a game that has similar stlye like Resident Evil? Like the enemies, ammo, and puzzles.
NanoBrain
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posted: 16th Apr 2005 09:42 Edited at: 16th Apr 2005 09:44
Silent Fox,

You should make use of the 3D Backdrop and of specific set camera angles. In noticing, Resident Evil had set 2D background(s) for each scene. Also, there were 3D characters and miscelaneous items.

First, make use of the 3D Backdrop command, it's syntax to be turned on manually being BACKDROP ON. Now, with a pre-created 2D bitmap of a 3D scene, which you or someone else would design within some modeling program, texture the backdrop. The syntax to do so is, TEXTURE BACKDROP Image Value.

Some objects the 3D characters were able to go 'behind'. I believe some of this effect was achieved simply by the objects accually being 3D, and not part of the 2D background. For the camera angle and for collision detection for the 3D animate objects, I would consider noting the actual 3D coordinates of walls and objects within the 3D scene you created in your modeler. Also, set your camera within the modeler to the view you want as the 2D background, and then record the coordinates and angle value of it. All of these values can be used within DarkBasic to create the illusion that your characters are actually within the 2D image.

This is rather hard to explain. However, if you wish for me to clarify, or if you wish for some kind of an example, let me know.

+NanoBrain+
Shadow Fox
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Mar 2005
Location:
Posted: 16th Apr 2005 13:01
Thank you
Los
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 17th Apr 2005 14:05 Edited at: 17th Apr 2005 14:07
Texture backdrop copies the image six times on the screen, 3 at the top and a second row of 3 below it. It's not what he'll want to use.

**Officialy has a mental illness.
" Ahh to finish something! My boy, have you ever accomplished anything? "
NanoBrain
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posted: 17th Apr 2005 15:26 Edited at: 18th Apr 2005 09:40
Los,

You are correct. In this case, I suppose using the DRAW TO BACK command, and then pasting an image over and over again might be the correct way to go about this. Thank you for bringing this to the light.

Accually, you shouldn't have to re-paste the image over and over again. This will keep the refresh rate up.

+NanoBrain+
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 23rd Apr 2005 08:06
Texture backdrop has got to be the most useless function in the whole of the DBC language. Bitmap flipped() has got to be in the top 10, too.

'Matrix Tiles Exist()' gets an award for being weird (it checks whether or not a texture has been applied to any of the matrix tiles, and I just can't think of a use for this apart from a line in someone's log file saying 'Matrix not textured').

'TnL Available()' only says whether you're currently using hardware TnL, *NOT* if it's available, so that's about as useful as a cremated rubber chicken as well.

Mmm.. Has anyone ever used 'Force Chainsaw'?

How's my typing? Phone 0800-GO-TO-HELL

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-23 10:36:00
Your offset time is: 2025-05-23 10:36:00