Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / space captian <<<<< first game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Apr 2005 03:26
hi guys im new to dark basic (durrr)
and i coppyed this code and edited it as much as i could
and i was wondering if you could give me tips on what to do
like (background music, sounds, high scores, sprites insteed of comp drawen images) and if you could show me how to write them and
make them WORK

code is incased

THANXS GUYS

e-ray has STOPPED talking
Zotoaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Apr 2005 02:36 Edited at: 28th Apr 2005 02:38
well, theres a problem and the source code wont come up, but there are a few things i need to say before i tell you to put the code back up....

1) Try not to just copy the code and just edit it, work on small things bit by bit till u know the code, like me, im still learning in little sections, im working on texturing models

2) Here are some tips: make a simple game, its not everyday u see any new person make GTA 4, but if you could make a simple pong game then everyone would think that you're a good programmer and stuff, so why dont you keep posting questions about making a pong game or whatever? thats what really get's you started....

3) Best not start on adding sounds just yet, it is pretty simple, but not needed, if you have finished a game , then perhaps add some

4) Just a simple tip (not to ruin anything for ya), dont expect much out of your first game, nearly EVERYONE gets stuck in a rut when making their first game, you may finish your first level or something, but you acnt go any further, it's really annoying but you get over it.