Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / mousemovez( ) input question

Author
Message
Link102
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2004
Location: On your head, weeeeee!
Posted: 28th Apr 2005 21:12 Edited at: 28th Apr 2005 21:17
check this lil code out

how do I get mousemoveZ() to output a number just like mousemoveX() or Y()?

please reply
Underworld 1020
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2004
Location: NY, USA
Posted: 28th Apr 2005 21:18
Well, the only way that I know of, is to move the scroll button up and down. So, X-axis is right/left, Y-axis is down/up, and Z-axis is scrolling the wheel down/up. If you don't have a mouse with a scrolling wheel thing, then you may not have a z-axis. Hope that helps .

Link102
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2004
Location: On your head, weeeeee!
Posted: 28th Apr 2005 21:56
I'm sorry, I stated my question wrong
what I meant was that the mouse Z axis is set to zerow every time

please reply
Underworld 1020
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2004
Location: NY, USA
Posted: 29th Apr 2005 01:00
I'm guessing that you want to like rotate a object or something similar, like this:



Try that code out, you notice that you can rotate the object on its Z-axis. However, just slightly move the mouse wheel, but not too much though or it will roatate really fast. I pretty sure the only way you can use the MouseMoveZ() command is with a mouse wheel, so if you don't have one on your mouse, then I don't think you can, but usually there's really no need for the MouseMoveZ() command. Hope that helps, but if it didn't then tell me what you want the code to do, like what its for, and be able to help you out more .

Link102
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2004
Location: On your head, weeeeee!
Posted: 29th Apr 2005 01:12 Edited at: 29th Apr 2005 01:20
I want to use it for zooming
I want z to output 0 when not moved +somthing increaased and -something when decreased

please reply
Link102
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2004
Location: On your head, weeeeee!
Posted: 30th Apr 2005 07:06
ugg, at least leave a few hints

please reply
Dodo
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2004
Location: eating lunch
Posted: 30th Apr 2005 23:42
just add mousemovez() onto your zoom variable(or take away, I've forgotten which) every loop

Part of solving the problem is actually noticing that the problem is there in the first place

Link102
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2004
Location: On your head, weeeeee!
Posted: 1st May 2005 01:07
please run the code I posten in the first post in this topic and you'll understand why I posted this

please reply
Robot
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2004
Location:
Posted: 4th May 2005 02:33
your code works fine for me if you scroll the mousewheel

The happenings of tommorow are behind us now
Link102
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2004
Location: On your head, weeeeee!
Posted: 4th May 2005 08:35
Ow stupid me, I maent to a a portion to that post but I forgot.

So anyway, when I try to scrol the movez thingey stays above or below 0, rezulting in a constant zoom. That's my prob

please reply
Robot
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2004
Location:
Posted: 4th May 2005 16:11
you could always put something like



The happenings of tommorow are behind us now
Sven B
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posted: 5th May 2005 00:48
Is this what you are asking for?

Underworld 1020
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2004
Location: NY, USA
Posted: 5th May 2005 01:00 Edited at: 5th May 2005 01:01
This works fairly well for zooming in:



It's probably better to not use the mouse wheel because not every mouse has one. Let me know if that helps or not .

Link102
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2004
Location: On your head, weeeeee!
Posted: 5th May 2005 07:07 Edited at: 5th May 2005 07:08
no, I'm sorry, but that doen't help, becouse I was looking for a code wich makes the mousemoveZ() code act like the mousemoveX() or Y() code.

please reply
Underworld 1020
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Mar 2004
Location: NY, USA
Posted: 5th May 2005 23:07
Well, to get the MouseMoveZ() command to return a number, just turn the mouse wheel, that's all there is to it. And if you want it to act just like the MouseMoveX() and MouseMoveY() commands then use the code that Sven B posted.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-22 23:44:22
Your offset time is: 2025-05-22 23:44:22