Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / 2d animations

Author
Message
Toilet Freak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 5th Feb 2003 04:49
is there a program that makes 2d character animation.
indi
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 5th Feb 2003 07:11
An important feature u may require with traditional key frame animating is onion skinning or being able to see multiple layers with different opacities..

what ever package floats your boat can all perform the same tasks with various degrees of workflow repetition and construction.


An alternative is to use my free 3d to 2d render script.

You deply your charactters by making them 3d and then using the script to export the 2d cells in the required angles and positions.

This is less time consuming in some ways but can lose a traditional feel unless the 3d models held a style or genre thats appealing.

You can use much higher poly models for this method as the end result is just 2d.

warzog
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Feb 2003 10:16
Indi-What did you say?

Toilet-Freak:
If you can afford it, Poser will animate people, animals, etc, and export as single frame images, or as avi's.
indi
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 6th Feb 2003 03:49
actarus
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 6th Feb 2003 14:31
I find it pretty clear.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
Toilet Freak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 7th Feb 2003 02:25
lol, can I do it just by rendering from the left or right viewport,(just like my friend said.), do i need to save in a special format for animations(frames)?

Toilet Freak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 7th Feb 2003 02:26
thats with 3d stud. max 5

indi
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 7th Feb 2003 05:13
render out of max is ok and u may need to test a few formats
like tga bmp tif etc.

u need a cell for each animated pose u want.

if u use sprites as your delivery method then u can flip and so forth.

Toilet Freak
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 7th Feb 2003 07:30
Thanks. I'll play around a bit.


Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-09-29 12:36:29
Your offset time is: 2023-09-29 12:36:29