Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Newcomer - First Post - Dark Basic instead of MS-Visual Basic et.al.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th May 2005 23:43
Howdy,
I've been a programmer since 1985. Several programming languages.
Have been a Database administrator since 1987 - IDMS, ADABAS, M204, Sybase, Informix, Oracle - am starting to futz around with MySQL for personal use.

As you might can tell - I've got lots of experience in some areas - especially Database design/implementation. So - in that respect - I'm a resource.

I am within 4 years of retirement from my DBA job and have been looking around for a NON-Microsoft programming tool.

Found Dark Basic. Haven't purchased anything yet but it looks very promising.

My use for it is less Gaming, graphic and more (for lack of better description) of a use in the business world.

With my "business" use in mind, I did a search for Database and found several references:
Quote: "
Can it interact with a SQL database, for a mmorpg?
TCA has already done this, check out the plugins on http://www.codingarea.co.uk

Is it possible to use Dark Basic as the Front End for an Access database?
Yes - I've tested it with mySQL & Pervasive. It should work with Microsoft's SQL Server and any other you've got on your system - you just need to work out the DRIVER= parameter (which I may do for other things later).
"

It appears that Dark Basic - as a tool - will meet my needs. Just need a warm fuzzy:

Are there other people using Dark Basic (Pro - whatever) for standard programming - DB access?

WolfBrother

Running it in Production is the true test of code.
walkman99
Years of Service
User Offline