Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / compiling help...

Author
Message
BULLSHOCK
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2005
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2005 07:24 Edited at: 30th May 2005 07:27
hey guys,

I ussually work with fpsc, but i got darkbasic pro today, and i ran into a problem. i tried to compile a simple program that would play an avi video, and then start an exe (my game). the validator checked it out, but it wouldent let me compile it...any ideas?

-I will beat anyone in HALO2!
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 28th May 2005 07:50
Yes, you coded something wrong

Really, we're not psychic - the code you used would be a good help.

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
BULLSHOCK
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2005
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2005 07:23
oh, right...i feel dumb

heres the code i used, this is the very first code i have ever tried to compile...and it wont go:

Quote: "load animation "intro.avi",1
play animation 1
wait 30
stop aniamtion 1
execute file "project_exodus.exe","","",1"


also...it said something about the dbpro disc...cant remember, i will have to try it again to post what the error said

-I will beat anyone in HALO2!
Baggers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Yonder over dem dere hills
Posted: 30th May 2005 07:30
Well theres going to be a problem here:
execute file "project_exodus.exe","","",1"

And also if its asking for the cd then put it in, or follow whatever instructions it gives.

IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 30th May 2005 09:14
One other thing it might be, is that the program isn't running in the correct folder. Save your project before compiling and running it. Ensure that the animation is in the same folder.

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
BULLSHOCK
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2005
Location:
Posted: 31st May 2005 04:55 Edited at: 31st May 2005 04:56
ok, i almost got it to work,but there is an error with this line:

EXECUTE FILE "exodus.exe"

can smeone tell me what the error is..because when ever i try to compile it, it says this

Quote: "#100008: Pameter for 'EXECUTE FILE' do not match filename, commandline, directory at line 5"


please...what does that mean?

-I will beat anyone in HALO2!
the_winch
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posted: 31st May 2005 05:48
EXECUTE FILE requires filename, commandline and directory.
You are missing the comandline and directory arguments.
Since you don't want to pass any command line arguments and the program you want to run is in the working directory just pass empty strings.

EXECUTE FILE "exodus.exe", "", ""

dbhelp - online dbpro help files with user comments
BULLSHOCK
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2005
Location:
Posted: 31st May 2005 10:32 Edited at: 1st Jun 2005 09:51
OK THANKS, thats what i did, but baggers told me it was a problem...

thanks all you guys for all your help, i got it to compile perfectly...


i have one more question though...

as you see, the code i posted above, shows a video (a cutcene) and then exacutes an exe (my game)...

is it possible to repeat this in one code?

example...

can i make the program play a video, then play an exe, then play another video, and then another exe...and so on?

so i could have separate exe's for each level, and a cutscene after each one...normally, i could just code the programs into db pro, but i make my games in fpsc, so they are all exe's..

so if anyone could help, i would greatly appreciate it...

and thank you again to all that helped me compile my first program!

-I will beat anyone in HALO2!
BULLSHOCK
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2005
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jun 2005 13:40
so is that possible? i really need to know...and if it is, i cant imagine how it works because, how will it know when the exe is done?

-I will beat anyone in HALO2!
BULLSHOCK
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2005
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2005 19:08
this post is to bump up this thread....please help me!

-I will beat anyone in HALO2!
Baggers
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Yonder over dem dere hills
Posted: 5th Jun 2005 20:29 Edited at: 5th Jun 2005 20:30
OK THANKS, thats what i did, but baggers told me it was a problem...
Sorry mate in your version it appeared to me a comma or 2 were out of place, hence i pointed your attention to it...my bad !

Edit:
Found it yep there was a problem...but not a comma, a speachmark
execute file "project_exodus.exe","","",1"

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-23 21:20:59
Your offset time is: 2024-09-23 21:20:59