Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Texturing Tutorial

Author
Message
Nytmayre
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2005
Location: Induced Coma
Posted: 21st Jun 2005 05:45 Edited at: 21st Jun 2005 05:49
Hey, I was following the Monster hunt tutorial on the site, (on my free trial version of DBC), and I came to texturing objects. The tutorial says that to load a texture, you have to type in the location of the bitmap.
Quote: "The "Load Image" command instructs DarkBASIC to load an image from a bit map. The first parameter of the command is the file name of the bit map you wish to load. You must punctuate the file name with quotation marks or an error will occur. In this parameter, You can use directory names such as, "C: DarkbasicImagesmybitmap.bmp"."

Well, I have some pictures that I have made and saved in paint, but when I load the bitmap in my program, It compiles right but then the debugger thing thing says
[center]" Bitmap File does not exist"

I have tried and tried but the stupid bitmap won't load.
Any help on this would be appriciated greatly.

My code is:
rem load textures
Load image "Dominic's Documents/My pictures/Druid Sign.bmp",1
Load image "Dominic's Documents/My pictures/Warlock Sign.bmp",2

The tut page ishref]http://developer.thegamecreators.com/?f=t01/3d_tutorial_6

Thanx in Advance,
Nytmayre }{

Uh... What's the point of this bit?
Dark Flame
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2005
Location: England
Posted: 21st Jun 2005 06:24
Try putting the image in the same folder as your project code and try not to have spaces in your image names.

Nytmayre
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2005
Location: Induced Coma
Posted: 21st Jun 2005 06:35
Ok. Thanx, I'll try it. Feedback when I do, on whether it worked or not. C U L8R.

Dream the world is doing fine, forget the Nytmayres left behind. Nytmayre of the burning sin, nytmayres scream from you deep within.

I am your Nytmayre
Fox Dark Master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2004
Location: Portugal
Posted: 21st Jun 2005 07:03 Edited at: 21st Jun 2005 07:04
And also, you've some special characters "'" and use the same folder of the code like



True Phantasy
Nytmayre
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2005
Location: Induced Coma
Posted: 22nd Jun 2005 02:44
I've tried to load the bitmaps into darkbasic, but I have no idea how to go about it. Should I try to copy and paste it? Is there some way of saving it in the programs internal files? Help me out here people.

Thanx.


--Nytmayre--


Dream the world is doing fine, forget the Nytmayres left behind. Nytmayre of the burning sin, nytmayres scream from you deep within.

Uh... What's the point of this bit?
Keaz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere in south Texas
Posted: 22nd Jun 2005 08:52
you got the Load image right, but...
1) Move your picture into the same folder as your project.

2) rename them for less compatability issues like
Druid Sign.bmp becomes DruidSign.bmp

3)Now the new command would be:
Load image "DruidSign.bmp",1

4)do this for the other media

5)if you select the executable with media it will attach the media (graphics, models, sounds) to the exe to keep the final exe all one piece and not needing separate files.

If you have more questions just ask.

Breaking Stuff=Fun!,Bug Testing<>Fun!, Bug Testing=Breaking Stuff, so...
Bug Testing=Fun! Hmmmm....
DOES NOT COMPUTE! SYSTEM MALFUNTION!
Nytmayre
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2005
Location: Induced Coma
Posted: 23rd Jun 2005 02:46 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2005 02:47
Arr... you've made it so much easier for me, thank you. At last, I can finally texture my matrix! Hurrah! Bravo! And...all...that...other............stuff.

Man, that sounded so nooby.

EDIT: Nice ciggy, by the way.

Dream the world is doing fine, forget the Nytmayres left behind. Nytmayre of the burning sin, nytmayres scream from you deep within.

Uh... What's the point of this bit?
Nytmayre
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2005
Location: Induced Coma
Posted: 26th Jun 2005 05:51 Edited at: 26th Jun 2005 05:59
Uh... a slight problem.

I don't know exactly how to move the picture into the same file as the project.

Please could someone give me a step-by step guide on how to do this, from getting my bitmap from paint into the monsterhunts.db file.

I have tried copying and pasting, using "my computer" to try and copy the bitmaps, I actually think they are in there, Dark basic just won't let me access them.
DB compiles it right, but when I execute it, The bar at the bottom says:

Quote: "Error at line 58. Image does not exist."


AAAAAAAARRRGGGHHH!!!!!! How hard is it to load and texture one stupid bitmap????

Here is my code, if it helps...



Thanks in advance,
--Nytmayre-- }{


EDIT: Uh, I changed the bitmap I wanted to load. I have tried to copy the red.bmp into dark basic using my computer, I went into:

C:\Program Files\Dark Basic Software\Dark Basic\myproj\the monster hunts.db

and copied it. But it still doesn't exist, apparently. aaargh!!

Dream the world is doing fine, forget the Nytmayres left behind. Nytmayre of the burning sin, nytmayres scream from you deep within.

Uh... What's the point of this bit?
DBAlex
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 26th Jun 2005 23:15
Wtf?

Just copy the bitmap from wherever it is on your PC to your games folder... Simple...

Oh and try Control+C for Copy and Control+V for paste...




AMD 64 3000 + 512mb RAM + 80GB HD + Radeon 9600se 128mb
http://www.dbastudios.cjb.net
Nytmayre
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2005
Location: Induced Coma
Posted: 27th Jun 2005 04:08
Sheesh... ok then. Keep ur hair on. I am a noob u no. (no makin fun either)

Dream the world is doing fine, forget the Nytmayres left behind. Nytmayre of the burning sin, nytmayres scream from you deep within.

Uh... What's the point of this bit?
old rinkly
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Mar 2004
Location: Devon UK
Posted: 27th Jun 2005 04:55
Hi Nytmayr, I assume you are familiar with the computer apart from DB.
If so, there is a simple way to do all this by using the programs windows and dragging and dropping the files from one to the other.
I keep a shortcut icon to the PROJECT window of DPpro on the desktop next to the DBPro .exe shortcut.
And I do the same for any paint program I use.
That way all you have to do is open both windows and drag&drop to your hearts content. No problem. Old Wrinkly
Scorpyo
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: italy
Posted: 27th Jun 2005 06:37
why don't you simply click on "File" in Paint and use "Save As" , then you browse in the pop up window to your specific project in the dark basic folder?
old rinkly
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Mar 2004
Location: Devon UK
Posted: 27th Jun 2005 17:07
Fair enough. but if you already have textures in other program folders, such as in another project folder, you can open the two windows and see what your doing.
Might be hammer and chisel stuff, but is so simple for a newbe. Old Wrinkly.
Nytmayre
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2005
Location: Induced Coma
Posted: 29th Jun 2005 03:19
I can't believe I didn't think of that.



Dream the world is doing fine, forget the Nytmayres left behind. Nytmayre of the burning sin, nytmayres scream from you deep within.

Uh... What's the point of this bit?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-23 23:26:53
Your offset time is: 2024-09-23 23:26:53