Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Creating an MMORPG with DBP and other Progs possible?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,

I am new to this Game developing scene, and have a few questions.
Without the understanding of common languages (c++), utilizing DBP, would it be possible to create a basic MMORPG solely with DBP, or would it require some of the following Program Tools:

1)DBP - Dark Basic Professional
2)Some kind of 3d Modeling Program?
3)Graphix Program like "EXGEN"
4)World Building Program like "GOSCAPE 3D"
5)Game Model Program like "TreeMagic G2" For my trees

Would I need all of those tools, or would I solely need DBP?

Thanks in advance. I am sure there are thousands of other tools and ways to go about this, but as unexperienced as I am, I feel more comfortable asking in these Forums, where perhaps someone has made an RPG world or dabbled with it.
Undercover Steve
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Jul 2005 15:37
1) No, you need better stuff than that (plugins)
2) hahahaha..yes
3)ermm..no
4)yes/no
5) no/yes
plus a $90 per month server
12+ months
9 team members
and some wits.
Seriously, go for pong or something. Or an fps. I made pong, an fps, and such.
Merranvo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Jul 2005 16:19
NO... do not REMAKE pong... it has been killed 10^10^10 times over.

Mutiplayer is hard, so I would recommend sticking with your RPG first, then encorporating MP into it.
Also, you should skip the whole "server" gig, Use Direct X protocols to create a p2p network. (No Not Kazaa, Bit Torrents, Limewire, Napster, or any other one you might think of)