Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Learning DarkBASIC

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Jul 2005 21:49
Hi guys, I am kinda struggling on learning the DB language, and I just wanted to ask - where's the best place to learn it? I mean, I've tried the Command list and such, but I find it confusing - is there any place I can learn those key commands in the easiest way possible? I'm not a complete newbie,( I know about 15, but I wanna get to know a wider selection), so if anyone could provide any websites, google pages, tuts, etc. the help would be greatly appriciated. Thankyou.

An Eternal Struggle between good and evil continues...Each side looking for an advantage...Each side looking for me.

Uh... What's the point of this bit?
thinkdigital
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jul 2005 03:00 Edited at: 17th Jul 2005 03:02
The Beginner's Guide To DarkBASIC Programming is good, It'll teach you loads (it's a book, so you know)

Now, tutorials for you:
TGC's Dark Basic Classic Tutorials
TGC's Dark Basic Pro Tutorials

This site has a little tutorial on how to create a game.

For the rest, search Google

Forgive the sig, I'm learning PHP
soapyfish
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jul 2005 07:59
Yep, I'd have to suggest the book as well.

It doesn't actually say "this is how to make a game in DB" but it explains everything about programming (loops, if/endif, functions, arrays, lights, variables etc etc etc) and how to use them. It's split up into chapters to sort out the different aspects and has loads of very well explained examples.

It won't teach you everythng but it's a good start if you're new to prgramming/DB.

Hope I helped.

Formely play2kill