Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Having problems with Bitmaps

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jul 2005 10:23
I am new to DARKBasic but not programming. I have been casually programming for many years in a variety of languages. I have about 6 days left in the trail version of DARKBasic Pro and just bought the box version.

I am reading and performing the tutorials from the book, "Beginner's Guide To DARKBasic Game Programming", (I am on chpt 11 - Sprites). All has gone very well, I have used DBPro to make several simple games and other programs, however when I tried writing a simple program that use Bitmaps - major problems.

I couldn't get the sprites to draw to the screen using the "SPRITE" command. Thinking I may not understand the syntax or logic of the commands I loaded in the sample programs from the book, and they don't work correctly either! I found this baffling needless to say, so I began wondering if there may be a problem with my system.\

I downloaded and installed the latest windows patch, checked to make sure I had the latest DirectX version (I did), and downloaded the latest drivers from Invidia and installed. I then ran the DirectX diagnostic program and ran the DirectDraw tests just to verify there was no problem. I then tried the programs again, no luck, problem remained.