Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / dbp help total noob

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
i got dbp ages ago with the beginner's guide to darkbasic book but got fed up trying could someone plz tell me how they got started with the program if u got the book also could u maybe tell me how u learned from it what u learned that is needed to make a simple 2d game.
I just want to know to load sprites and the control and when u jump on the bad guy u win (like sonic)
thank you
gpex
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jul 2005 13:39 Edited at: 20th Jul 2005 13:40
No matter how much we all want to learn the key features of making a nice 2d game(sprite commands,input commands...etc) when we first start, you have to take it one small step at a time. If you start learning the more complicated commands first, you will find yourself going back and having to lookup other commands to get it to work. Just go through the book page by page. Dont do the examples in the book though, Use the commands in your own examples. You'll probably learn more this way and it will stick with you so that you wont keep having to go back to the book to find what you need. Thats what i did, and even though i'm not the best programmer right now, it's easier for me to proggres now that i have the basic commands learned and basically memorized.