Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / need help with a newbie question

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
i am new to darkbasic so sorry if this is a lame question but i am trying to apply collision detection to my level that i built in cartography shop so instead of walking through the walls of my level i collide with the walls

i have tried the automatic camera collision command and i end up getting embeded in the walls unable to move

can some one please help and give some suggestion to solve this problem so i can stop tearing my hair out

thankyou
Zotoaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jul 2005 04:10
hi, collision is quite hard with darkbasic, but theres a dll called sparky's collision dll, its for pro, but someone made it for dbc.. you'll find it somewhere in the code snippet forum.

There's also a dll called nuclear glory, but ive never tried it so i wouldn't know if its good enough..

Your signature has been erased by a mod because it's larger than 600x120...
James Morgan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jul 2005 06:38
the automatic camera collision will work on a basic level but you have to set your object to polygon collision. Only draw back is it wont let you walk up stairs so I would recommend using something such as Sparky or NGC.

If you are using DBP, look in the code base forum, there are several good working examples avaliable to download

J

Hello!
Zone Chicken
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jul 2005 07:45