Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Newbie in DB! Objective - Galaxians!!??

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2003 12:42
Hi all,

This is my first project in Dark Basic having bought it along with the Darkmatters thrown in for free after xmas. I would like to do a Galaxians type 2d game, i have a problem:

1. I think I learn best from examples/reading I have not found much info on the type of game I would like to do, any source/tutorials on this anywhere?? like how do I do the AI for the aliens as they come down the screen?.

Also what's the difference between DB & DBPro and can I upgrade from one to the other cheaply or do i have to buy the whole thing again?.

I come a visual basic & C/C++ (little) background, so i have done some programming, but not much in the games arena, so any help would be great.

Thanks.
Gilfalas
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2003 13:15
Hi

I am working on 2D shooter too but its concept is quite different from Galaxian. Maybe I can be of some help though.

What I did, was design arrays to store the infos about my aliens in. Such as current position, if it is still alive or already destroyed, but also what kind of movement it will use when coming down the screen.

This is what you might want think about: How should the movement of my aliens look like? Then you could design functions that will change your alien's current position according to the way you want it to move. You could for example use a simple function that makes your alien come down the screen straight. Or flying left and right when coming down.