Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Little Help Anyone?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Aug 2005 23:13
I am new to Dark Basic, but i have already learnt a small amount and been able to make a pong game with the help of a tutorial. I want to start a 3rd person shooter project and need a bit of help. First off I was wondering if its actually possible to make a menu screen at the start of the game. I have not seen any in tutorials and didnt know if it is possible. Also i was wondering if someone could give me a rough guide to the core structures for creating maps, people, and other various elements in a game.

Many Thanks

master programmer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Aug 2005 05:35
Yes its possible. I do for all of my games. You should use some sprites and some 2D media to make buttons and backgrounds. Then, use a command like if mousey()=>640 then paste image 5,0,0 whcih if the picture is in the right spot and the image is loaded, would change the picture of an image into another one, like a hover button on a web page.

I don't know where to start telling you how to make it. I guess you just have to be a little more experienced with DB. I'll try to get a tutorial.

Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Aug 2005 05:42 Edited at: 5th Aug 2005 05:44
OK.....this isn't really a tutorial, its more just a pice of code from my main menu off of my game *notice I didn't mention the name of my game for you David R.

I don't know how much that will help you.

You really have to make your own media for it to work and you have to create your own gosubs and labels and stuff to fit your game.

Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Aug 2005 17:51