Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Help with Ai

Author
Message
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 03:08
Guys i need help with ai i suck at it and i dont really under stand it can any body give me tutorials/litle peices of explained code of Ai i really need to know how to make a object wonder in a perimiter can yall show me/help me with it

Immense
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Aug 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 03:27
Yea yea me 2 i have an tic tac toe game but i want that the computer thinks by itself ^^ anybody?

Stupid Factory...
Where boys are made
Blazer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 03:58
crzy, I had this one stored away. I didnt make it, but here ya go:



Immense, you could just start by randomizing which square he chooses. The make it a little smarter: if you have 2 in a row make him put a mark in the third. Then if he has 2 in a row he puts a mark. I've heard there is a meathod of tic-tac-toe were you can never lose if you go first, you dont want your AI this smart.

I discriminate against discriminating people....
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 04:01 Edited at: 16th Aug 2005 04:10
TY BLAZER! but that didnt help......Im just needing to know how to make 100 radom cubes wonder around a matrix dose any body have code or can tell me how to do that.

Kim Possible
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2005
Location: Where ever there\'s trouble.
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 04:23
What you want is called "Waypoint AI"

A search of the forum and codebase for waypoint should net you a ton.

Yeah, first thread turned up: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=56535&b=7 has snippets for waypoint creation and following.

Start with one cube - the go for a hundred.

DBP + VC Ent.Studio | Maya, MAX, Soft3D, MilkShape, Character FX | 3.0Ghz P4, IC7G, GF 6800GT (primary) / 3200XP, A7N8x, GF 6600GT (secondary) / 6x dual 2.8Ghz Xeon SuperMicro (renderfarm)
Immense
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Aug 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 04:46 Edited at: 16th Aug 2005 04:48
Well you can make:

for c=0 to 100
make object cube c,50
w$=screen width()
h$=screen height()
position object c,rnd(w$),rnd(h$),0
next c

something like that

And thnx blazer for the very useful ideas
i had something already with that, ( a part of it )
but didn't know how to go further,
and yes there is an trick to win always
but there is also an disabler to stop that trick

Stupid Factory...
Where boys are made
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 05:17
Immense all that dose is positions 100 cubes randomly i know how to do that i need to do that and make the cubes walk around the map

Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 05:18



I need those random cows to be able to walk can any body help me make them walk i thought it might be easyer if u saw my code

TDK
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 06:26
Just knocked this together for you!



TDK_Man

Louiz ofRohr
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2005 07:49 Edited at: 16th Aug 2005 07:55


Looks like a trick, I know
But it is the only example I could give you..
And my friend foud it really clear..

I have a nice hint to you:
Learn how to use arrays to apply a different speed to each
cow.. a different state (running, walking, etc)..
Learn how to use rnd() and timebased or loopsBased counters..

Study hard these 4 items..
If you get those programming logics plus maths, you can make
brilliant AI's
Comparisons+Maths+Logic+CoolIdea

Each AI is another AI..
There is no AI example if you don't know
how to use comparisions.. An example for
this would be: we just make the work for you.. Like TDK did >=|
>=[ TDK!!!

I want the people learn HOW TO DO
It would be soooo good

There is no an AI Book (even from the best AI Books ever)
that teaches you how to make cows move by themselves..

Any doubt about that?
Get the monster tutorial and try to associate that to your cows..
You'll see that it is impossible for you now, 'cause the moster
acts much different of a cow..

Anyway.. good luck

The worst foe lies within the self..
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 17th Aug 2005 01:58
Guys i am wanting to make points then have my cube go to that point and make another point then have it go there and just have it walk back and forth between those 2 points can any body help me with that

Kim Possible
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2005
Location: Where ever there\'s trouble.
Posted: 17th Aug 2005 02:14
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=56535&b=7

DBP + VC Ent.Studio | Maya, MAX, Soft3D, MilkShape, Character FX | 3.0Ghz P4, IC7G, GF 6800GT (primary) / 3200XP, A7N8x, GF 6600GT (secondary) / 6x dual 2.8Ghz Xeon SuperMicro (renderfarm)
Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 17th Aug 2005 02:30


thats what i got so far and yes it dose find a random position and gos there but how can i make it do it again

TDK
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 17th Aug 2005 03:15
crzy programmer:

Stop moving the goalposts for goodness sake!!!

Quote: "Im just needing to know how to make 100 radom cubes wonder around a matrix"


So that's what I did.

Now you are saying:

Quote: " Guys i am wanting to make points then have my cube go to that point and make another point then have it go there"


Which isn't the same thing as you originally asked for. Please try to be a bit more specific in your requests for help so we don't waste time writing code you don't actually want.

TDK_Man

Crazy Programmer
AGK Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Lost in AGK
Posted: 17th Aug 2005 03:37
Tdk i need the first one too and it works ty for helping
but now i need help with somthing else

TDK
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 17th Aug 2005 16:46
OK, no problem.

Once you have the answer to your question, the courteous thing to do is thank whoever helped you (which you have done) and if you have another question, start a new thread for it.

The chances are, most users who might want to know how to solve your second problem won't be able to find it if it's tucked away in a thread about something else.

TDK_Man

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-24 01:23:38
Your offset time is: 2024-09-24 01:23:38