Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Health, Magic, etc type code example.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I know I have been asking a lot of questions but I have never programmed before and this is how I learn.

Anyways, my question, how would you write code for health, magic, and other types of things that would diminish durring a game?

For example, you have 1 type of enemy but there are multiple instances of this enemy in the level. When they get hurt, their health goes down, when they use magic...etc

How would you write the code for that 1 enemy type so that each instance of the enemy isnt effected by the others. Basically, how would you write the code so that when one of those instances gets hurt, the health of the other instances doesnt go down. Same for magic etc.
Tinkergirl
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Aug 2005 03:23
I don't know if this would work in Classic, I know it works in Pro. A concept you might like to get to grips with is 'Types'. This is where you define something as a Type, and you can then create lots of different examples of that Type. Like creating a blueprint and then using it to make lots of copies.

Here, I've created a Type called Baddie. I can then create 'variables' of the Type, Baddie. For example -

That's the same as doing...

In the topmost example, I've created an array of Baddies called Enemies[]. I've made that size 10. So now, I have space in my game for a list of 10 Enemies, of the type Baddie. That means that Enemies(0), Enemies(1), Enemies(2) etc etc, all have a set of variables unique to them.

To access those variables, I do this...

Because they're in an array, I can run through the list of them, using a 'for' loop. Eg