Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / A question about DarkEdit

Author
Message
Axel Stone
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2005
Location: Spain
Posted: 5th Sep 2005 12:35
Hi people:

I suposse nobody uses default IDE with DB Classic (is not a good IDE really), and most people sugest to use DarkEdit.

However it has a problem: the help doesn't works correctly. When I press F1 above a command it doesn't goes to the command help page, it always goes to the help index, and it's not handy to use the help in that way.

Is there any way to solve it? Or is there any better IDE for DB Classic?

Thanks people.
NanoBrain
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posted: 6th Sep 2005 05:14
Axel Stone,

TDK has created an IDE. Sorry TDK, I have yet to try it out. I promise I am getting to it.



+NanoBrain+
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 6th Sep 2005 08:40
Once TDK's IDE is stable it will be the best solution.

To fix your problem with DarkEdit, go to Edit>Options, click the "DarkBASIC Options" tab, and make sure your help file field points to something like: "C:\Program Files\Dark Basic Software\Dark Basic\help\menu.htm"

While I've been waiting for TDK's IDE I've been using CrimsonEditor combined with a console app I wrote to accomplish the same functionality as codekeeper (globals and tapes) except you just set up a batch file that will tell the exe to parse your code and stick it into a new file (with all your taped files and globals edited properly) and then tell DB to run it. A little out of the way, but it helps me be more efficient.
It's here: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=58040&b=8
If you use it be wary that there is a bug. It will not recognize multiple instances of the same global variable on a single line.

Instead of:
global coolvar
coolvar = coolvar + 1

or
global coolvar
coolvar=1
if coolvar=1 then coolvar=2



You'd do something like:
global coolvar
x=coolvar
coolvar = x + 1

or
global coolvar
coolvar=1
if coolvar=1: coolvar=2: endif


As a final word of advice (sorry Walaber...) don't use CodeKeeper.


I'm going to eat you!
Axel Stone
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2005
Location: Spain
Posted: 6th Sep 2005 12:16
Mmmm, it sounds really cool that TDK's IDE. Is there any link to a beta version?

The help works fine BearCPD, but DarkEdit and CodeKeepers has the same problem: they link to index help, not as the default IDE that goes directly to the word you were pointed.

Thanks people.
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 6th Sep 2005 14:18
The problem with context sensitive help - which I fully intend the IDE to have eventually - is that the help files are all html files.

What's more, these html files are not all named the same, so although you might load CLS.htm for the CLS command, there's no way of knowing that when you highlight OBJECT LOOPING(), the html file to load is called olooping.htm.

I have an idea for what to do though...

A link to the beta version is in my sig.

TDK_Man

Axel Stone
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2005
Location: Spain
Posted: 6th Sep 2005 20:47 Edited at: 6th Sep 2005 20:51
Ok, let's see it.

P.D.: queda gracioso que hablemos en Inglés siendo los 2 españoles .

P.D2: It looks really a very handy IDE. We are waiting the final version impatiently .

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-22 08:23:55
Your offset time is: 2025-05-22 08:23:55