Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / help needed for move cmd and shooting bullets (non fps)

Author
Message
Tito
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 07:42
hi,
this is my first game/dp(pro) project

my goal :
a 3d top-view style arcade shooting game

----------
PROBLEM :
----------

1.
why doesnt the 'move' command on the bullets work ?? (line 243)
the bullets should shoot from the turret towards the mousepointer
(where mousepointer was when bullet fired)

2.
How can I position an objext relative to another ? (line 276)
like placing the turret at the back/front of the tank/box instead of middle ?

3.
other sugestions are welcome too
(fe the rest of the shooting code )

thx in advance !!
Nul error
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 15:33 Edited at: 27th Sep 2005 15:33
Im doing something simular but its not realy arcade its more like a 3d version of solarwinds/escape velcity series.

If yours is 3d this function should work.
obj is the turret model id
turx,y,z# just position
baseobj is the mother object it belongs to.
Tito
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 18:27
oops, forgot to post code

Tito
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Oct 2005 03:34
no1 can help ???

I still dont know how to make my bullets move !!

I did find out I could position an object relative to another by making it a limb. If people with same noob problem are in need of more info i'm willing to explain how basic limbs work...

Im not using intersect for bullets cause ill be using mostly rocket type bullets. so i use (am going to use) collision detection by moving objects/bullets, when my bullets can actuaaly move!

this is my code so far :



on line 230 is the non-working cmd for moving the bullets...

any comments on rest of code is welcome too.

thx in advance...
Tito
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2005
Location:
Posted: 2nd Oct 2005 17:05
ill post this in case some1 might actually be interested :

i did find out how to make my bullets move,
basic collision detection is working too

this is my code so far :



sqdz (azerty layout), use cursorkeys for qwerty
q=left
d=right
z=up
s=down
leftmouse=shoot
rightmouse=reload
scrollwheel = cam height

if anyone would like to make a comment/suggestion on my code, they're more then welcome to...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-24 05:27:33
Your offset time is: 2024-09-24 05:27:33