Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / DBP question about RPGs

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 03:23
Hello, I'm new to the program. Seeing all of the great demos on this site, I was considering making a 3rd-person RPG. I am wondering if it is possible to make NPCs follow you using DBPro? Or is it impossible to code something like that with this engine?

I love challenges, and this seemed like such a challenge since I haven't seen anyone do it, looking at all the games on here. Thanks for your help in advance!
RUCCUS
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 17:03 Edited at: 9th Oct 2005 18:21
Anything is possible you just need teh codez. The only limitations Dark Basic Pro puts on you is the speed it requires to handle things like massively online multiplayer games.

So yes, making NPCs follow is actually very simple once you know what youre doing.

Knuckles
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 17:26
Thank you so much! I wasn't planning on this to be a multiplayer game, but thanks anyway! It's good to know that such things are possible.
x1b
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 17:44 Edited at: 9th Oct 2005 17:54
Yes knuckles, it is possible. Allow me to save you a ton of questions and research. First, please direct your self to http://www.matedit.com/db.htm and briefly read its tutorials. Some are mildly out of date but do an excellent job of helping your learning curve.

That being done,please direct your self to http://www.ruccus.net/Tutorial.htm And read very thoroughly.