Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Dark Basic GUI

Author
Message
Specters
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Sep 2005
Location: idaho
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 08:30
Okay so I just was experimenting and thought about how I should make a Dark Basic GUI. Dark Edit is good but it seems to be designed in Windows Classic. I am making one for Windows XP and class, whatever your O.S is. Any code someone might want to share. Like entering in commands, or drop down menus. Thanks.

Current Project : Legend of Lantis
Zotoaster
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 11:41
check out TDK's menu bar


TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 18:08
Zotoaster

I think he's talking about writing an IDE for DB Classic in DB.

TDK_Man

Zotoaster
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 18:21
yeah.. but he could still use your menu bar function to make it


devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 18:32
how about being able to put bookmarks in your code, then clicking next bookmark or last bookmark at the top and you could instantly go to various parts of your code without using that god forsaken search in the regular darkbasic. This would be really convenient for a lot of programmers.

good luck on this

verydevastating.com
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 18:37
devastation 328:

Dark Edit already has bookmarks.

My IDE lists all the labels and procedures in your program along with their line numbers. Just click on any of them and the IDE jumps straight to that part of your code.

TDK_Man

devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Oct 2005 23:38
SWEEEEET! nevermind then

I'm good

verydevastating.com
Silent Knight
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2005
Location: In Your Mind
Posted: 10th Oct 2005 00:32
oh btw TDK is your IDE availible for use? i know it may not be completed but is it availiable?

Version--DB Classic
900 mhz AMD Athlon, 128 MB RAM,
16 MB NVidia Vanta gfx card, Windows ME System software
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 10th Oct 2005 03:12
Yes - you can download it from here:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=58555&b=10

Unless you mean the re-write version - in which case sorry, not yet.

TDK_Man

Specters
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Sep 2005
Location: idaho
Posted: 10th Oct 2005 05:31
No, TDK, do you know code for inputing Db commands in. I'm not sure how to start this- I coded just some external stuff on it. Nothing major. A newcomer might be able to do what I did so far. Thanks in advance..

Current Project : Legend of Lantis
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 10th Oct 2005 05:57
Sorry Drew - I'm not 100% sure what you are saying.

Adding extra commands is just a case of putting the code into functions.

If you group them all together you can put them in a separate DBA file and add them to your DBP project so they get included when you run/compile your program.

If you are after info on how functions work, there's a functions tutorial on my site (link at bottom of this post).

TDK_Man

Specters
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Sep 2005
Location: idaho
Posted: 11th Oct 2005 05:45
Y'know TDK, I'm not sure how to explain this either. I mean, for like umm, to make my IDE (no it's not a GUI anymore, BTW I don't know the whole definitoin of what an IDE or GUI is, I just guess on what they are lol ) read the parts of the Dark Basic compiler, when you input a command, it takes it from the compiler. Hope that explains myself, I like your IDE but would like to start my own. You inspired me. Thanks in advance TDK.

Current Project : Legend of Lantis
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 11th Oct 2005 21:15
A GUI is a Graphical User Interface. Windows is a GUI and is the interface which sits between the user and the computer.

Prior to this, on the PC there was only DOS (Disk Operating System) and was text only - and as such was a User Interface, but not a graphical one so wasn't a GUI.

In your programs, any drop-down menus and buttons are part of your GUI.

An IDE is an Integrated Development Environment and came about because for many years, you typed your programs into a text editor, saved them to disk, came out of the editor and used a DOS command to pass your source code to a compiler. When compiled, you ran your exe.

When programming these days, the entering of code and compiling/running it are all done in the same environment with the click of a button - without leaving the program. The tasks are therefore integrated.

TDK_Man

Silent Knight
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2005
Location: In Your Mind
Posted: 11th Oct 2005 22:10
btw again, is there some tutorial that someone would show me to that instructs about writing GUIs for DB classic? Yes GUIs not IDEs

900 mhz AMD Athlon, 128 MB RAM,
16 MB NVidia Vanta gfx card, Windows ME System software
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 11th Oct 2005 23:16
I've not seen one, probably because it's not really the sort of subject that would easily translate to a tutorial.

Basically, all you are doing is creating images with DB's 2D commands and pasting them onto the screen, then checking to see if the user clicks in the correct place to activate an event.

Should be easy enough to figure out what's going on by looking at the source for my menu bar function, then add to it.

TDK_Man

Silent Knight
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2005
Location: In Your Mind
Posted: 12th Oct 2005 04:15
well i know it would be exactly a tutorial but more along the lines of say a list of all the functions like radiobutton(xpos,ypos,xpos),"radiobutton text" or checkbox(xpos,ypos,zpos)"checkbox text". Are there commands like that?

900 mhz AMD Athlon, 128 MB RAM,
16 MB NVidia Vanta gfx card, Windows ME System software
Specters
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Sep 2005
Location: idaho
Posted: 12th Oct 2005 07:51
@ TDK
Thanks for the GUI and IDE, .
But I still don't have an answer to my one question. I make the whole input field area, on the left has the number count of how many lines, I click on the first line and type Print "Hello". The program does it successfully. It did it since it took the command and used in the DB compiler, what is the code to do crap like that??? I like your IDE but I would like one in Windows Xp, like I already said. Hope that explains myself.

Current Project : Legend of Lantis
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 12th Oct 2005 15:41
Quote: "I like your IDE but I would like one in Windows Xp"


My IDE is in Windows XP - Dark Edit isn't. To clear up any possible confusion, I didn't write Dark Edit.

The key to writing an IDE for Dark Basic is that you don't use Dark Basic to write it! Those that are, tend to be doomed to failure because DB is a game writing language and doesn't have the features you need for an IDE. You need something like Delphi or VB really.

But compiling DB code in your own IDE with Classic is no more difficult than saving the source code to disk then running DB.Exe passing the name of the file in the command line along with an instruction telling DB what to do with the file (compile, run etc).

There's a html file covering it in the Help folder.

TDK_Man

Specters
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Sep 2005
Location: idaho
Posted: 13th Oct 2005 23:36
Ok sure thing thanks, I like your IDE I just would like to make my own. Okay let me try out Delphi. Thanks

Current Project : Legend of Lantis
Silent Knight
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2005
Location: In Your Mind
Posted: 14th Oct 2005 21:48
i just find it ironic (maybe not) that you need to compile a compiler. program a programming software.

I wonder how binary was invented....

Only when the last tree is cut, the last river is dammed, and the last spot of ground is paved will we realize we can't eat money
dab
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 14th Oct 2005 22:14
That is funny........

Visit my website of games http://www.dabip.co.nr!

Visit http://www.madmanhosting.tk For a GREAT web host visit MAD MAN HOSTING
Specters
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Sep 2005
Location: idaho
Posted: 14th Oct 2005 22:15
are there any free programs to make a program in. Delphi and VB cost money...

Current Project : Legend of Lantis
empty
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: 3 boats down from the candy
Posted: 14th Oct 2005 22:27 Edited at: 14th Oct 2005 22:28
Quote: "Delphi and VB cost money..."


Here are links to free personal editions of Delphi 6 & 7
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=55503&b=20

Apps compiled with these version may not be sold, though.

The personal edition of the latest version (Delphi 2005) allows selling programs created with it as long as you are an individual and not a company. However, you can't download it, but it was on several cover discs.


Play Nice! Play Basic! Version 1.088
ThinkDigital
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2005
Location: A galaxy far, far away...
Posted: 15th Oct 2005 03:41
For instance, I choose to program my DBC ide that I'm working on in Java. Excellent lanugage, with the nice interfaces all built in. Perfectly free, too.

If you're curious, check out the Java Development Kit (JDK):
java.sun.com
Xenocythe
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 15th Oct 2005 03:44
If I was gonna Program an IDE, the world come to an end (By my command, of course)


ThinkDigital
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2005
Location: A galaxy far, far away...
Posted: 15th Oct 2005 03:49
lol
Specters
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Sep 2005
Location: idaho
Posted: 20th Oct 2005 01:21 Edited at: 20th Oct 2005 01:27
Thanks all for the links
@TDK
Look I know your IDE is great and all, I just have a few problems with it. How do I save regularly, save source save blah. I don't know. And like, the [X] at the top right of the window, I wish there was a mode that was windows xp like default blue, or olive green. I don't know, I suck at explaining myself...

EDIT:
Okay, I just would like to make an IDE that is easy for myself. Sorry for any redundent posts. Anyway, anyone know any code for getting started. Thanks in advance.

Current Project : Legend of Lantis
TDK
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 22nd Oct 2005 04:51
It's not a problem at all. Just because I'm writing one doesn't mean that you have to use it or that you can't write your own.

Mine is nowhere near finished, but saving is one of the things that works.

Good luck with your IDE, but I think you'll be surprised at how easy it isn't!

TDK_Man

Xenocythe
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 22nd Oct 2005 04:52
Reply to this do ya TDK?

Anyways, good luck with it Drew!
Specters
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Sep 2005
Location: idaho
Posted: 23rd Oct 2005 00:00
Thanks for all the constructive comments. Thanks to my extremely great mind and thinking skills I have, I just got the free program called Just Basic, AKA Liberty Basic. That program is SOOOO easy for making IDE's. Progress will be shown later....

Experience : Dark Basic
Learning Currently : C++, Delphi, Java
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 30th Oct 2005 11:01
*starts Visual Basic parade*

And don't talk to me about Delphi, for 'tis crap and bloated. Just the VB6 runtime files, (which everybody with Win2k+ already has and most Win9x users have), and you can have 20kb EXEs.
ThinkDigital
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2005
Location: A galaxy far, far away...
Posted: 30th Oct 2005 18:57
Quote: "And don't talk to me about Delphi, for 'tis crap and bloated"
Isn't TDK's IDE made in Delphi?

"Use the force, Luke."
empty
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: 3 boats down from the candy
Posted: 30th Oct 2005 19:06 Edited at: 30th Oct 2005 19:06
Quote: "And don't talk to me about Delphi, for 'tis crap and bloated."

And still faster.


Quote: " Isn't TDK's IDE made in Delphi? "

Yes.


Play Nice! Play Basic! Version 1.089
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 31st Oct 2005 11:36
Quote: "Isn't TDK's IDE made in Delphi?"


Bah, I eat, sleep and breathe VB; I'm allowed to oppose his inherant fanboyism of his language, like he's allowed to oppose mine.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-22 12:44:09
Your offset time is: 2025-05-22 12:44:09