Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Using POINT OBJECT to keep PLAINs facing towards camera?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Oct 2005 00:56
Hello, this is my first post on this forum, so I'll just give a little intro.

I've been lurking here for a while and reading up on DarkBASIC. I have some experience with computer programming (mostly with JavaScript and Liberty BASIC, I've dabbled a bit with C++, but I couldn't figure out how to use the editor I was using, so I didn't get very far with that. ) so I'm already used to variables, loops, etc, and I've worked with 3D also (POV-RAY and CAD programs mostly), so I'm also familiar with 3D coordinates, axis rotations, etc. This is my first foray into putting the two together however, so it's pretty exciting for me.

Anyways, downloaded the trial a couple of days ago, almost finished with my very first game. It's a simple game where you're running around a matrix, collecting blue crystals, and trying to get more than the CPU before time runs out. I've got all of the main routines done, the menu system, the game engine, the AI, etc, so I decided to start adding the bells and whistles. Right now I'm trying to add a small sparkle effect whenever you get a crystal, but I can't get the sparkle to align to the camera's position.

I did a forum search, seems other people also had this problem, but none of the suggestions offered seemed to worked for me.

Here's my code:

I'm pretty much stumped. Anybody have any solutions?
RUCCUS
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Oct 2005 04:43 Edited at: 15th Oct 2005 04:44
Well you didnt post a question but to do what youre asking shouldnt be too hard...