Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Help with 3rd person rotating and zooming!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Oct 2005 03:17
I have cobbled together a camera system for an RTS game from a couple different projects, since I have very little coding experience of my own. The code seen here is courtesy of XTOM of Team XTC (creator of Dark Konflict) and Kensupen & Lokidecat of Nerdsoft Creations.

I need help with the following items: When I you rotate the view (holding down the mousewheel) and try to move forward, backward or side to side, the camera doesn't move forward in the new angle (please run the code below to see what I mean). How can I get the camera to move forward in the direction the camera is pointing?

Also, I would like add zooming using the mousewheel - mousewheel up zooms out and mousewheel down zooms in. Also, I'd like to set maximum and minimum zoom levels.

Anyone's help with these items would be hugely appreciated!

Thank you much!
Grossman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Oct 2005 03:41 Edited at: 16th Oct 2005 03:42
Quote: "Also, I would like add zooming using the mousewheel - mousewheel up zooms out and mousewheel down zooms in. Also, I'd like to set maximum and minimum zoom levels."
You can make zoom effect by the set camera fov function. Mousewheel event can be captured by mousemovez(). Try to use something like I've written below in your main loop (it's a template!):

Note: I used cond variable for clarity reasons .
McChief
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Oct 2005 06:51
Grossman,