Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Question about shooting in an FPS game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello everyone! Well, this is my first post on the forums. I was wondering how to make an enemy shoot in an FPS game if there is more than one bullet in the game. Also, how would you do this for the player too. I have been reading some of the tutorials from the manual, and they are really no help. I would like some better documentation next time. So, what should I do? Should I just use an array that stores the bullets in it? Could someone just give me a mini tutorial or point me to a good tutorial on the subject matter?

Thanks in advance.

The Big DarkBasicPro Newbie.

Hey, I am a total noob to DBP, so if you would be kind enough to just help me along.
RUCCUS
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Nov 2005 02:17
Some effort in using the search button would help;

http://www.ruccus.net/Tutorial.htm

A tutorial on creating FPSs, its incomplete but has instructions on shooting rapid bullets. Most modern guns shoot so fast that you cant see the bullets, so instead of creating objects and moving them you can just use the intersect object command to determine if theres an object infront of the user, if so then damage the enemy. Read the tutorial for more info.

As for moving slower bullets like rocket launchers or old fashioned guns, I'll be adding that to the tutorial in due time, I dont have time to explain the theory behind calculating in the velocities, gravity on the bullets, amount of bullets to create, factors of collision and so on, but I hope the intersect object shooting will work for now.