Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 3D object questions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Nov 2005 15:11 Edited at: 19th Nov 2005 15:11
I just started programming 3d stuff with DBC, and I have a few questions:

1. How do you know how to draw a texture for a model, like only 1 bmp file? Attached is an example of what I mean.

2. How do you load the textures with an .x file? I thought I saw somewhere that the name for the textures have to be less than 8 letters or something. Whenever I would make a 3d object and load it in DB, it doesn't appear, and when I open it whith the DB browse program, it just crashes.

3. And what is the difference between 3ds or .x objects and meshes?

4. Limbs in 3d are really confusing. Where can I learn how to use them?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Opposing force
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Nov 2005 21:22
Quote: "1. How do you know how to draw a texture for a model, like only 1 bmp file? Attached is an example of what I mean."

well if you have a 3d modelling program theres a tool called uv mapper this make the 3d object's faces (the sides of the object and stuff) into a 2d image and your bmp image is then put on place so that the 2d image of the objects face corrosponds with that of the bitmap so you can move it around so parts of the bitmap go on parts of the object.

Quote: "2. How do you load the textures with an .x file? I thought I saw somewhere that the name for the textures have to be less than 8 letters or something. Whenever I would make a 3d object and load it in DB, it doesn't appear, and when I open it whith the DB browse program, it just crashes."