Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Need help with game programming concepts (sorta a space invaders clone)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello, recently picked up darkbasic programming and find it very fun yet challanging and after several days of being stuck I decided to come here and post for help. Basicly, im tryin to make a space invaders clone, (sort of) in where ships are drawn at the top of the screen and come down shooting at you, while you have to dodge and shoot back at them. I have posted my entire source code for my game, any suggestions on how to change/improve it? I know the code is a bit sloppy but its my first attempt at a game. Currently im having trouble with spirtes, and how they can relate to arrays, in order to make the program more organised and structured. The main problem besides that is the fact that I dont know what methods/conceps i should use to move the sprites once they exist. Move sprite seems to work. however, for each individiual sprite , it is not very effecient because i would have to write a good 100 lines of code dedicated to move sprite .... movesprite 1,2 movesprite 2,2, movesprite 3,2, ect. if any one can comment on what i should do or what, it would help alot. If you look at it i did try to comment as much as possible but im not the best at commenting. also theres alot of varaibles strewn about (changed the program design several times).
Thanks so much in advance for your replies!! oh and i attached a zip file with all the graphics required for the exe to run.. i made them with paint.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ThinkDigital
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Nov 2005 21:01