Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / collision with a "tunnel" thing?

Author
Message
dab
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 2nd Dec 2005 03:44
How would I make collision with a 3d object that is like a tunnel?
I tried object hit, but that doesn't work, I stop moving in the area you are supposed to walk through. I tried set collision to polygons, but that slowed it down greatly. So, how would I do it?
Thanks to anyone who can help me!

Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&Montenegro)
Posted: 2nd Dec 2005 12:55
try to set collision to polygons , and then use normal collision.

http://dodica.proboards75.com/index.cgi
first 20 are mods. i have 9 sofar.
Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&Montenegro)
Posted: 2nd Dec 2005 20:38
try to set collision to polygons , and then use normal collision.


example (lets think your tunnel is number 1 and object you want it to collide with is 2):

set object collision to polygons 1
set object collision to polygons 2


and then just use

if object collision(1,2) then speed = 0 (or whatever you like to heppen when colliding)



i hope that will work ! (that what i`m use to make tunnel collision in my new fps game.

http://dodica.proboards75.com/index.cgi
first 20 are mods. i have 9 sofar.
dab
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 3rd Dec 2005 00:46
Quote: "I tried set collision to polygons"


Yah, thanks. I tried. I was hoping there was another way. It worked when I did it, but it took down like 30 fps when I did do it.

Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&Montenegro)
Posted: 3rd Dec 2005 01:10
i know , you can try setting collision to spheres , too

and if that doesn`t work , than you`l tunnel will have to be boxafied ...

http://dodica.proboards75.com/index.cgi
first 20 are mods. i have 9 sofar.
DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 3rd Dec 2005 05:18
do u have the sync commands set! they work great if you dont

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
Sven B
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posted: 3rd Dec 2005 09:37
Quote: "do u have the sync commands set! they work great if you dont"


This has nothing to do with it...
Collision and syncing are something completely different m8.

Without syncing you would get a framerate of 0. And he says the framerate dropped down to 30...

Immunity and Annihalation makes Immunihalation...
Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&Montenegro)
Posted: 3rd Dec 2005 12:18
you can try setting collision to spheres .

http://dodica.proboards75.com/index.cgi
first 20 are mods. i have 9 sofar.
dab
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 3rd Dec 2005 23:16
Well, my "tunnel" is actually a room with two walls missing. And my character is that goblin thingy that is in the darkmatter collection. Hope this will help give you guys a visual.

Quote: "tunnel will have to be boxafied "
I was afraid of doing that because I would spend a long time trying to get the objects correctly positioned.

dab
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 8th Dec 2005 16:49
So besides, set to polygons, and makeing three seperate objects, is there anotehr way?

Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&Montenegro)
Posted: 8th Dec 2005 17:49
hm... i cant say i know another way , sorry

i make free 3d models , then you tell me some stuff about usseles posts and then something heppen...
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 8th Dec 2005 18:49
What about using another, lower-poly model for collision and only allow the normal high-poly one for the user to see?

16-colour PNGs pwn.
Xenocythe
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 8th Dec 2005 21:24
How about every time you go to a tunnel you have the choice to go in it. Just play a cutscene of animaton of the character going through the tunnel by turning collision off and moving the object with coding from scratch.
Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&Montenegro)
Posted: 8th Dec 2005 21:49
Quote: "What about using another, lower-poly model for collision and only allow the normal high-poly one for the user to see?"


hm.. what is the difference in that from just turning collision on original one ??? only more models ..

i make free 3d models , then you tell me some stuff about usseles posts and then something heppen...
devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Dec 2005 00:03
the last two are your best bet by far

i've done alot of objects that are hidden and only for collision only and it works great and its easy.

and the cutscene would be cool too. you could put the whole thing in a for next loop. if the tunnel was 100 units long, you could do for x = 1 to 100 and each time, move the object forward, sync it, and do it again. you could use the set camera to follow command to make it nice and smooth, but dont forget to switch back to your camera positioning code after the loop

best of luck
---Jeff

verydevastating.com
devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Dec 2005 00:12
you could also make your collision based off of the intersectobject commands. I noticed you were concered about speed. If you havent used sparkys collision dll yet, now would be a great time to start. it's really fast and easy to work with. Theres a nice demo of using it for first person in teh codebase, and I'll upload a third person version I made off it if it would help you.

lastly, it sounds like you're using teh built in primitives. you'll have alot better luck for fancier landscapes with an editor that will export you an object to load in the game. Deled is free and decent, and theres always cartography shop and 3dws if you get serious about mapping. .x objects work especially well with the collision dll


sorry for the double post. I feel naughty.
---Jeff

verydevastating.com
dab
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 9th Dec 2005 01:16
I used milkshape to scale, and position boxes to look like a "tunnel". A cutscene wouldn't work a well for me because I want you to be able to "hide" and trick the enemy into it and what not. I'll upload a demo if you want me to. And you can see what kind of tunnel I'm talking about.

devestation328, I would love to learn how to use the dll. I tried it once, but I didn't know where to start. Thanks all so far for the comments!

devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Dec 2005 05:31 Edited at: 9th Dec 2005 05:32
i uploaded a zipped folder of a 3rd person game i started on. its got all the iterations of it that i made (10 total i think) ranging from toggy's .x demo, to one w/ jump, to one weith a third person camera, to one with a ninja and a swinging camera, to one with a ninja that can attack, etc. If you're up for it, the dll is a great next step to make towards better games.

hers the dl

http://www.verydevastating.com/3rdpersonwjump.zip


if u decide to use it and have any troubles, email me and ill be hapy to help you as much as i can

devastation328 (a) yahoo.com

verydevastating.com
dab
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 9th Dec 2005 16:37 Edited at: 10th Dec 2005 01:38
thatnks! I'lll check it out after school!

Thanks, that is the coolest! I could NEVER make anything that awesome. Now I need to figure out how to actually use the collision. I'll keep looking through the code, but thanks! if You could save me time and tell me cammands to use and how to use them, I would greatly appreciate it! Again, thanks!

dab
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2004
Location: Your Temp Folder!
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 07:01 Edited at: 24th Dec 2005 07:04
So, uh, how DOES the dll work?

Edit : Whoops, I didn't see the email thing. I'll just email him.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-23 04:27:37
Your offset time is: 2025-05-23 04:27:37