Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Object size problem

Author
Message
Delta Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: U.K
Posted: 6th Dec 2005 18:42 Edited at: 6th Dec 2005 18:43
I have been working at the mon hunt tur and have stated to develop a game out of what i lernt there. I am loading an object (the GI from dark matter) but when i ran the game he was a small speck on the screen how can I make him better.
here is the code were i load the object


I am useing DB

Delta Games studio
Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 6th Dec 2005 19:17
use the scale object comand. Heres how it looks.



The first number is the number of your object(In this case 1).

The second is how much bigger along the x axis you want to scale your object.

The third number is how much taller you want your object to be(How much it is to be scaled along the y axis)

The last number is the same as the second and third number except it is for the Z axis.

Try starting with the last three numbers at 1000 and keep increasing it until you get the correct results.

Oh and keep the camand out of the main loop other wise your object will just keep getting bigger.

Hope you understand and it helps. (If you dont understand ask me)

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
Delta Games
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: U.K
Posted: 6th Dec 2005 19:21
thanks that helped me a lot

Delta Games studio
Big Man
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2005
Location: BEHIND YOU!!!! (but I live in England)
Posted: 6th Dec 2005 19:27
your welcome.
I would say just ask if you need any help but mods dont like that.

*whisper* You can still ask if you need any more help though just dont tell the mods *whisper*

BM

Our aim is to keep the loo's clean, your aim can help.
TDK
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 9th Dec 2005 02:10 Edited at: 9th Dec 2005 02:13
It's worth adding to what Big Man said that the last three parameters are percentages on the X, Y and Z axis.

If you used Scale Object 1,100,100,100 then object 1 would be unchanged - it's like saying Scale Object 1,100%,100%,100%

Scale Object 1,200,200,200 doubles the size of the object on all axis and Scale Object 1,50,50,50 halves the size of the object and so on.

100 is the original size of the object (100%), 1 is 100th the original size, 200 is 2x size, 300 is 3x size and so on.

Knowing this removes much of the 'trial and error' aspect as you have a rough idea of what numbers to use before using the command.

TDK_Man

Antidote
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Mar 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posted: 9th Dec 2005 03:07 Edited at: 9th Dec 2005 03:08
Another thing is that sometimes if you want to uniformly scale the object you have to do this

scale object 1, 50, 50, 50

Wouldn't it be easier if you only had to put in one value if all you wanted was a uniformly scaled object? Well now you can

function ScaleUni(objnum, value#)
scale object objnum, value#, value#, value#
endfunction

Example:





Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-24 11:24:41
Your offset time is: 2024-09-24 11:24:41