Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / help devestation!

Author
Message
DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 18th Dec 2005 23:49
hey um devistation can you help me some there are a few things i need help with fro my FPS im going to post a download ok it has some topics that i need help with and a EXE. of my FPS right now you would notice that there are two things titled crosshair one is the model i made it myself in CShop and my crosshair model is crudy but it will do because i didnt have internet while i was traveling. so can you help me with that stuff please thanks

P.S. o yah i fixed the loack object thing and got it all nice you will see it in my EXE. thanks for helping me with that!

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor

Attachments

Login to view attachments
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 19th Dec 2005 13:46
Dude, if you're going to aim it solely at one person then e-mail or MSN. Nobody wants these crap 'hey [name here]' threads clogging up the forums.

16-colour PNGs pwn.
DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 19th Dec 2005 15:53
ok

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Dec 2005 18:20
yeah just email me, [email protected], so you dont get flamed

i'm downloading now sounds like an easy fix. you should use an image rather than a model for the crosshair to save you some polys. A plain with the image texture stretched on to it (with the help of set object texture) does nicely, and you can do some neat effects with it too without alot of trouble on your frames.

i'll take a look at it later cas im leaving now (just got home from a half day!)

---Jeff

and seriously, email people. the scent of single-person directed threads draws flamers.......

verydevastating.com
go there. now.
devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2005 03:22
i took a look at it and it's a great start for a beginer

as for collision, I'd really really really really really really really really really reccomend you build of of solid collision code. I usually reccomend the .x level collision demo in the codebase, and I'll do it again now: you should use the .x level collision demo in the codebase. It went through 4 or 5 developers being tweaked and added upon, and now it's almost flawless. Just make sure you put the collision radius as atleast 25 or so, and you may need a larger one depending on what you use for your speed variable. It's got gravity bult in too, so not only will you stay on the ground but will fall if you walk off something. Seeing as you're using cshop, this is about the only way to go and its the best anyway (who uses matrixes anymore?).

I tweaked gravity and collision radius in the .x demo and added jumping and crouching. I think I have the source code on my site but i'll have to check. if not, i'll upload it (i just almost finished remaking the site anyway, i've got a long session with ftp surfer ahead).


as for your gun, it's pointing towards the middle (i think it does automatically with lock object on) but it looks a little distant, you may want the z position a little smaller, the x too (more towards the middle of the screen, but not too close as it will clip off polies and youll see in it).

reguarding your crosshair... nobody uses models for them as it's just a waste. Sprites can work, but most people use a plain with a crosshair textured onto it, and then locked onto the middle of the screen (the perfect use for lock object on).

if you have multiple weapons, my way is to check if the mouse z position (the scroll wheel) is in a higher or lower position. if it's higher, the currwep# variable is increased, lower its decreased. if its lower than all the wep object numbers, you have it equal the highest weapon number and vice versa. and make sure you put hide object currwep# before you increase or decrease the variable and show object currwep# after, so it hides the last one and shows the new one.
load objects beforehand and hide them till you need them. Never ever ever ever load objects in mid loop unless you get super awesome at programming and want a streaming environment. Loading can ruin gameplay even (in last build of Monster hunt two (the one i made a crappy demo of) the rocket launchers explosion is loaded when the missile hits and the frames per second go down to a third of what they were for several seconds. I could probably pass that off as more bullet time, but I wont cas loading objects is bad! Loading objects during a game is like fixing your engine while you drive on the highway)

hope this helped. the source code is at http://www.verydevastating.com/jumpcrouch.zip
good luck with your game

if you need more help directed at me, email me so you dont get flamed

cya
---Jeff


DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 20th Dec 2005 05:26
ok thank you ill try it!

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2005 21:33
yer welcome


DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 21st Dec 2005 16:37
hey do you have any 2D crosshairs i can use and how do you load sprites and center them on the screen!

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 22nd Dec 2005 03:17
umm I dont know anything at all about sprites

and I don't have any 2d crosshairs handy

just open up paint or pixia and draw one. make the whole picture black first then paint it on in a different color. make a plain, lock it in the middle of the screen, texture it with your crosshair and use the set object and set object texture commands to make the black background clear. i'm not sure the parameters you'd give set object and object texture commands cas i dont have my manual with me, just look it up it will be in the manual.

also it's cool if you have zrotate object crosshair,wrapvalue(object angle z(crosshair) + 0.5) so the crosshair will rotate slowly like in alot of games.

peace
---Jeff


DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 22nd Dec 2005 03:44
ok thank you ill try it tommarow i have a nother question how would i make my gun shoot ill give you my source code ok.



and alsowhat would i use for a bullet.

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
new programmer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2005
Location: right behind you.
Posted: 22nd Dec 2005 19:23
well, basically move the bullet(maybe 12.0?) steps forward, then return it back to its first position. but only if space being pushed.
devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 22nd Dec 2005 23:37
if mouseclick() = 1
position bullet (guns positionxyz)
bullet# = 30
endif

if bullet# > 30
move object bullet,6
bullet# = bullet# - 1
endif

and just use a sphere or something

i'd put it in ur source code but i dont have much time


DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 23rd Dec 2005 05:11
hey were would i put that code and when i load the sphere do i have to add some commands so that it will make the shoot code work

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
devastation
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 01:51
put that in the main loop and it should do fine depending on certain factors

Your signature has been erased by a mod because it's larger than 600x120...
DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 03:50
hey man sorry to ask this but can you put it in my source then i will study it because i just really dont understand how it works.

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 23:28
can someone help pls

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
DB newbie
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 26th Dec 2005 18:02
will someone please help i need to learn how to make my gun shoot.

ATI mobility radeon X600 graphics card
AMD 64 Bit processor
Sven B
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posted: 27th Dec 2005 08:31
Try the monster hunt tutorial you find on the DB website. If you just want code, go to the newcomers corner and search there. Alot of people have already asked for this code.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-22 19:13:40
Your offset time is: 2025-05-22 19:13:40