Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Embedding HTML

Author
Message
nojbox87
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jun 2005
Location: England
Posted: 23rd Dec 2005 13:59
hi i was wondering is there any way to put HTML into a darkbasic program so that it can be viewed (not the code but actually show the box's and stuff)becuase basically i want to make a program that will display some HTML, however im not sure this is possible with DBC

thanks in advance, jon
Sven B
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Dec 2005 14:21
It is possible. But very difficult. You'll have to filter all tags out, check which is the content of the tag and, when the tag is open, edit the text that is between the 2 tags. When it's a tag with attributes, you have to filter out every attribute and do what it's supposed to, etc...

It's possible, but certainly not easy to do.
new programmer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2005
Location: right behind you.
Posted: 23rd Dec 2005 18:06
like what seven B said, you basically have to BE the HTML interpreter.
hope i helped
dapaintballer 331
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posted: 23rd Dec 2005 18:46
there is probably a dll out there somewhere that ie, firefox, or opera uses, but don't listen to me, im new to dlls

~`Gamerssoft.com'~
nojbox87
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jun 2005
Location: England
Posted: 23rd Dec 2005 19:55 Edited at: 23rd Dec 2005 19:55
ok thx for that. ok another thing then would it be possible to put a scroll bar in in which u can change the colour and then at the end it codes it in HTML (i know hoe to code the HTML just not how to put a scroll bar in) or would i have to to draw a scroll bar?
Sven B
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 08:12
Quote: "would it be possible to put a scroll bar in in which u can change the colour"


yes.

Quote: "and then at the end it codes it in HTML "


Is it possible to code a scrollbar in HTML? Didn't think so actually.
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 11:53
Quote: "Is it possible to code a scrollbar in HTML?"


Yeah, but only by using embedded client-side scripting (JavaScript, VBScript etc.). Which would require you to add yet more code to your HTML parser

16-colour PNGs pwn.
nojbox87
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jun 2005
Location: England
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 15:03
ok put simply i know how to code the scroll bar i just need to know if it can be embedded or is it just easier to draw a scroll bar using preset shapes etc?
David T
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 16:41 Edited at: 24th Dec 2005 18:56
Quote: "there is probably a dll out there somewhere that ie, firefox, or opera uses, but don't listen to me, im new to dlls"


Nope - they all have their own rendering engine, hence all the fuelled debates over which is best!

There's the IE activex control, but I've never heard of that being used in DB.

Darkbasic MADPSP
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2005
Location: Uk
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 17:04
Quote: " im new to dlls

"

Woot but u made Lua

Experienced DB http://www.greatgames3d.com (work in progress site)
Sven B
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 18:18
That was a quote.
David T
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 18:56
Yep, forgot to quote

dapaintballer 331
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posted: 24th Dec 2005 19:00
Quote: "Quote: "Is it possible to code a scrollbar in HTML?""

You can't "code" a scroll bar in html, but you can use css and color codes to change the color.

You can also in html add a scrollbar to a <div> tag i think its <div overflow=scroll border="0"> or something like that (i did that from my head, but you can look that up.)

How do you make a scrollbar in darkbasic? Is there a sprite that moves the camera or anything?

~`Gamerssoft.com'~
nojbox87
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jun 2005
Location: England
Posted: 27th Dec 2005 17:27 Edited at: 27th Dec 2005 17:29
yes what i want to do is pick colours of the scroll bar so if u cant insert a HTML scroll bar into DBC can u add one in darkbasic other than making it out of 2D shapes?
and thanks for everything so far guys
Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&amp;Montenegro)
Posted: 28th Dec 2005 22:29
Quote: "Quote: "Is it possible to code a scrollbar in HTML?"

Yeah, but only by using embedded client-side scripting (JavaScript, VBScript etc.). Which would require you to add yet more code to your HTML parser "


ahm.... It is very simply possibile to make changes to scroolbar colour and so , it`s not possible to Totaly change it into something you like , but you can change colours and other stuff.


and here`s a sample html code for it :



i make free 3d models , then you tell me some stuff about usseles posts and then something heppen...
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 28th Dec 2005 22:32
Yes, we are aware that it is possible to change the colour of an already existing scrollbar, but it is NOT possible to create one in pure HTML.

Support the AAANJL by doing nothing! Visit teh site below..
Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&amp;Montenegro)
Posted: 28th Dec 2005 22:35
define "creating a scroolbar"

i make free 3d models , then you tell me some stuff about usseles posts and then something heppen...
Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&amp;Montenegro)
Posted: 28th Dec 2005 22:38
Quote: "hi i was wondering is there any way to put HTML into a darkbasic program so that it can be viewed (not the code but actually show the box's and stuff)becuase basically i want to make a program that will display some HTML, however im not sure this is possible with DBC

thanks in advance, jon "



for that , just wanted to say to you that it is possible to make it without any dll`s in dbc , you have to make it read some lines (parse) and read coordinates and make them into preview) it would be a whole engine required and it woudn`t look exactly like in ie...

p.s. i made one simple html creator back there somewhere on this forums...

i make free 3d models , then you tell me some stuff about usseles posts and then something heppen...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-22 20:11:32
Your offset time is: 2025-05-22 20:11:32