Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / FOR COMPLETE NEWBS-Making a Video Game, Not as Easy as You May Think

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Jan 2006 03:36 Edited at: 7th Jan 2006 03:54
I’ve decided to address the topic of making video games and how hard it is to actually do it, because I often hear comments suggesting people don’t understand how hard it is to make them, they don’t understand the difficulties in making one. They have the concept that you somehow magically think of what you want to happen, drag and drop a few things, and it’s done, you have an awesome video game. Not true.

I’ve seen quite a few posts, for example the infamous, “I have no clue how to do anything, but I’m going to make an MMORPG”, posts that all of us regular visitors and members of the forum know about. I’ve also seen posts like “im a newbbb, i don now wut 2 do, som1 HELP plzzzzz”, as most of us have, often by people who have no idea what it actually takes to make a video game, and expect to sit down create it easily, and within a day or two, no problem. This is why I’m making this post, of course the large majority of us, being actual game developers ourselves, obviously know what it takes to make a game, so this obviously isn’t aimed toward you, but rather those who post the kind of threads I’ve mentioned .