Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Nesting Error and the enter key... once and for all

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
First off, I'm a newbie and I admit it freely. I've got the mother of all duncey, bonehead problems, and I couldn't find a clear-cut answer in previous posts. And yes, I did look.

I just bought DBLite today in the Game Programming Starter Kit 6.0 and started the tutorials with the infamous

DO
PRINT "Hello World"
LOOP

But I can't get past DO. I type DO, press enter, and get Syntax Error - Nesting Error. **ROLLS EYES AND NODS HEAD WHILE YOU FINISH LAUGHING**

I've tried other stuff, and see that you can scroll up and down through your lines with the UP/DOWN keys on the keyboard. But other than that, I can't figure out how to edit my code once it's typed, especially with all those error messages cluttering everything up.

This is a very, VERY basic problem, and I'm hoping once I pass this one stupid hurdle everything else will come more easily. As it is, I'm a little miffed I just shelled out fifty bucks for an ordinary but decent book and a very confusing demo CD. WHAT'S THE DEAL? Any useful illumination would be much appreciated, please.

W.S.
It's over, Prime.
Mike Inel
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Mar 2003 09:22
Try typing "Do" instead of "DO"...

Shadow
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Mar 2003 14:33
I'm not sure what DBLite is, but when I use DB (Pro or original), syntax errors are only displayed when I try to run my program (with F5).

If I type in a load of rubbish without realising, I won't know until I run it.

Also: you can type "DO" or "Do" or "do" or "dO" - capitals shouldn't matter.
PiratSS
Years of Service
User Offline