Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Is it possible to build .exe files within Dark BASIC Classic.

Author
Message
Computer Nerd
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2005
Location: What do you care?
Posted: 23rd Jan 2006 19:49
If it is can anyone give me a few pointers on how to make a .exe file in Dark BASIC Classic. Need it for my 2d game maker.

Ran out of unwitty remarks and puns
Official Site: http://gamedeveloper1.tripod.com Official Forum: http://www.topfreeforum.com/forum/gamedeveloper.html
Jack
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 23rd Jan 2006 20:30 Edited at: 23rd Jan 2006 20:35
Here is a complex instruction :
1. Start Dark basic classic by doubleclick (with your mouse) on db.exe

2. Whrite your app

3. Press on "File"

4. Choose "built EXE"


It also works with the DBC Trial version but you will have a
watermark on the screen.

If you want to build a final then you choose "Built final".
A final is also an .exe but the media is inside the .exe


Hope it helps

[/center]
UFO
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jan 2006 23:50 Edited at: 24th Jan 2006 00:12
That's helpful, Jack, but I am sorry to say he is not asking about that He is asking about how to make a program with Dark Basic that can make an exe.
Johnathan Skinner - Sorry, I don't know. I am sure it is hard. You might be able to search on it on google and find the layout of the exe or something...


Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia-Fear of long words
Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&Montenegro)
Posted: 24th Jan 2006 09:51
Well , you cannot write the full exe with write to file command...


you should make an COMPILED exe witch reads commands from a file (.txt or whatever) , and that compiled exe should RUN the game , with reading the parametres from that .txt file , and when you want to "make" exe , just use copy command (if db has one..) to copy and RENAME that exe file to the name user write`s , and also copy that .txt or whatever file to the same folder.

my posts have been read or opened
times !
Kangaroo2 BETA2
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Aug 2003
Location: Somerset / UK
Posted: 24th Jan 2006 18:23
Dodic's solution is the only one you are allowed to do I'm afraid - I'm pretty sure you aren't allowed to make a program which will compile natively as this would be tantamount to reverse engineering or distributing the db compiler. If they allowed that, you'd see unnofficial versions of db and dbp appearing all over the place

You can however as dodic sugested make your own scripting language which is interpretted by a standard exe. Ie if its renamed "program.exe" it will read "program.txt" or whatever.

Of course it would be possible (but difficult) to get db/dbp to write an exe file through "open to write" but I'm pretty sure you aren't allowed to under th tos. sorry


Preorder EA here:http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=67575&b=8&p=0
+ Model Pro out now in Program Announcements!
PowerSoft
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Jan 2006 18:49
You can actually make it with the WRITE TO FILE command and its not against the licence... if done correctly

Kangaroo2 BETA2
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Aug 2003
Location: Somerset / UK
Posted: 27th Jan 2006 16:37
"You can actually make it with the WRITE TO FILE command and its not against the licence... if done correctly"
Yes, but it couldn't contain/use any of db's functionality


Preorder EA here:http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=67575&b=8&p=0
+ Model Pro out now in Program Announcements!
blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 27th Jan 2006 23:41
Kangarro2, where in the DBC license does it forbid you to make your own programming language with it, or to wrap any of the features? I couldn't find it.

The DGSDK forbids it, but afaik the DB licenses don't.

Support us! Click! Image! Visit! Site!
re faze
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2004
Location: The shores of hell.
Posted: 28th Jan 2006 06:23
they dont, and if you have the skill to make an exe with open to write, be my guest, but that's a hell of a lot of work. due to the way db is made, there is a way to script db using native db code, Im just not sure how.

blanky
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 28th Jan 2006 19:56
@re faze: An interesting idea, but you'd be effectively re-making a piece of TGC's software (the compiler) directly and that's illegal. Like, for example, you can't make an exact clone of Microsoft Word and release it calling it something like 'Refaze Word'.

Support us! Click! Image! Visit! Site!
Dodic
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Nov 2005
Location: SNM (Serbia&Montenegro)
Posted: 28th Jan 2006 21:17
you can definatly make a scripting language in db , it just cant write direct mashine code , that`s all , but you can most certanly make your 2dgame maker be able to ""compile"" to exe under tos.

Quikly game studio
Fps creator

are two pices of software that "make" an exe and are fully legal to be made by anyone. (they`r in dbpro though)


just do this :
Quote: "You can however as dodic sugested make your own scripting language which is interpretted by a standard exe. Ie if its renamed "program.exe" it will read "program.txt" or whatever.
"

and you shell have no problem.


If you need furder help , codding assistace or antrhing regarding the "compile" to exe part , contact me to my mail.

re faze
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2004
Location: The shores of hell.
Posted: 28th Jan 2006 22:40
if you have the darkbasic archive v1 and you played that fps, i think its dark realm, the person was using db code scripts but i think there wasnt contact info , but it can be done.

Kangaroo2 BETA2
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Aug 2003
Location: Somerset / UK
Posted: 29th Jan 2006 17:27
"Quikly game studio" is made by me, and no it doesn't make an exe directly as I thought it wasn't allwoed to - what it doesn it have a stadardised small distributable exe which is copied and renamed and then a script written with the actual game in it which is run by the exe.

I'm afraid I no longer have DBC (I sold it years ago when I got dbp) so I can't check the liscence anymore, I was 90% sure you weren't allowed to compile an exe with it...


Preorder EA here:http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=67575&b=8&p=0
+ Model Pro out now in Program Announcements!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-23 11:33:12
Your offset time is: 2025-05-23 11:33:12