Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / A few questions about cameras, player models and collisions. (DBP)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Jan 2006 23:26
Helo all, this is my first post in this board, and I'm (almost) a complete noob to DBP, so bear with me.

First off, I cant figure out how to bind a model to the camera and then assign the camera to the arrow keys, but not let the camera/player model go beyound the map's floor (aka the terrain).

I have a hightmap in .hmp format and I want to make a terrain out of it. I se that there is a "make terrain" command, and one for texturing it. Okay, I get that, but now for collision. At that I am totaly lost. Do I need to add a colision point for every point on the map? Or is it just a simple command I am not seeing?

Thanks for any help!

ChrisB

Your signature has been erased by a mod, because the mod was so jealous of it that he couldnt bare looking at it.
=ChrisB=
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Feb 2006 03:03
Anyone?

Your signature has been erased by a mod, because the mod was so jealous of it that he couldnt bare looking at it.
x1b
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Feb 2006 03:08 Edited at: 1st Feb 2006 03:17
I assume you are using Advanced Terrain. Use .bmp for your heightmaps. As for the rest, check the code base for "Juxta Tempus"
and you will find how its done in my code.

Not all collision will be handled by Advanced Terrain. You may want to try something such as Nuclear Glory.

If the comments arent clear,let me know and ill better explain.

Sorry for the berevity of my post. am tired and heading to bed.

example

- Do it, Do it Right, Do it right now..
Acolyte Entertainment
Years of Service
User Offline