Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Katamari Damacy - In the Making

Author
Message
Black Cat XIII
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2006
Location:
Posted: 6th Feb 2006 18:20
Well I originally wante dot make a fighter game, but that was too complicated with either AI or Two player, so I thought of a game that was single player and had virtually no AI.

Katamari Damacy!

If you havent played htis game the objective is basically to roll around and collect things the make the katamari (clump/ball) larger to the levels requirements.

For the coding I figured I could make an Item Function database saying that whenever this item collides with katamari, glue item to katamari, make katamari larger by X. Then everything else is as simple as the binary moon tutorial. So far

For modeling, I just finished making a Katamari. I was wondering if DarkBasic can load obj files or lwo files. Can it? If not then my quality goes down which is ok anyways but I'd prefer it to be better.

Also, is there a way I can make my own terrain and tell darkbasic that its the ground, liek a matrix I can roll around on?

That is all. Thanks!

Enemy Lasagna
Black Cat XIII
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2006
Location:
Posted: 6th Feb 2006 23:42
Can anybody give me the code for the moving Katamari?

I know the Act of making the 3rd person perspective. But how can i get it to rotate while moving with the arrow keys.

Also, can I move diagonally as well?

Enemy Lasagna
SimSmall
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Feb 2006 20:15
Quote: "For modeling, I just finished making a Katamari. I was wondering if DarkBasic can load obj files or lwo files. Can it? If not then my quality goes down which is ok anyways but I'd prefer it to be better."


nope - Dark basic can only use .x or .3ds files
3DS files are small and you can use more 3ds files than X files in a given amount of space on the hard drive
X Files however are the format which DB prefers, they load much quicker than 3ds files do, and the quality is no worse or better.

Almost all modellers can save in these formats, so conversion shouldn't be a problem.


Quote: "Also, is there a way I can make my own terrain and tell darkbasic that its the ground, liek a matrix I can roll around on?"


as in: make matrix?


Quote: "Also, can I move diagonally as well?"

You're the programmer, that's your decision:
if upkey()=1 and leftkey()=1
would be the condition to check for moving diagonally forward-left if using arrow keys.
if you want to use lettered keys then use keystate(), in the brackets, put the correct key's scancode.
(if you're not sure on scancodes, there's a program that will tell you the scan codes already in DB - run Help\Examples\Input\Exam06.dba, and press the key you want to get the scancode of)

...maybe one day I'll finish a project
mido
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th Feb 2006 22:59
i think .x models load faster because when i load any .x model i find it very tiny so maybe they are scaled down when they are loaded
i am not sure if this is right

M25
Black Cat XIII
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Feb 2006 01:24
Whenever I subpatch something in lightwave, and then try to load it, dark basic dies on me.

Even if its a DirectX file.

Enemy Lasagna
Black Cat XIII
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2006
Location:
Posted: 16th Feb 2006 00:17
Hey I've gotten pretty far, in my novice opinion sinc eI just started DB. Since I got some of this code form other people I only get some of it. I need to know a way that I can rotate the camera about the objects axis whenever I press 2 keys. Heres the code.



If I cant rotate the camera about my objects y axis then I was thinking I could position it around the object using sin somehow. Havet got that yet. Anyways, how come my computer will allow me to press "e" "o" "f" and ";" but not "e" "o" "s" and "k"?

It beeps and doesnt work.

Help?

Enemy Lasagna
Black Cat XIII
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2006
Location:
Posted: 17th Feb 2006 18:30
Well this is my triple post. The movement still beeps, I'm not gonna use that though, and I still need camaera help, but can somebody tell me why with all this code



Why is the katamari not restricted?

Quote: "
`Katamari Restriction

if X#<5 then X#=5
if Z#<5 then Z#=5
if X#>495 then X#=495
if Z#>495 then Z#=495
"


That should restrict it.

Enemy Lasagna
bibz1st
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 18th Feb 2006 12:07
Quote: "Why is the katamari not restricted?


Quote: "
`Katamari Restriction

if X#<5 then X#=5
if Z#<5 then Z#=5
if X#>495 then X#=495
if Z#>495 then Z#=495
"

That should restrict it.
"

try this
if X#<5.0 then X#=5.0
if Z#<5.0 then Z#=5.0
if X#>495.0 then X#=495.0
if Z#>495.0 then Z#=495.0
Black Cat XIII
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Feb 2006 23:13
that still didn't work

Enemy Lasagna
Black Cat XIII
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Feb 2006 00:35
Can Somebody Fix this?



Enemy Lasagna
Spunky sk8er
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2006
Location: Ehm.... no
Posted: 1st Mar 2006 23:46
wow that sounds fun, and since im also new you should tell me if you need any help with anything, on msn [email protected]

I will help however i can this sounds like a really fun project and i would like to participate if you need help so yeah
Black Cat XIII
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2006 18:38
Duh I need help, help me make it to where I can rotate the Katamari and move it at the same time.

Enemy Lasagna
Toby Quan
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: U S A
Posted: 3rd Mar 2006 22:57
Katamari Damacy may not have lots of AI, but it does have some AI.

And it also has an INCREDIBLE amount of physics involved! Imagine, rotating a ball, moving it, and then also seemlessly rotating all of the other objects around it as the ball moves.

But most importantly, if you stick to a pencil or stick, then the ball becomes uneven. The game has amazing physics that actually move the ball up and over larger obstacles that are stuck to it.

If you are ready for an extremely difficult challenge in physics and programming, I gladly recommend that you continue and try to program Katamari Damacy in Dark Basic!

I certainly would never attempt such an advanced game.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-23 08:18:34
Your offset time is: 2025-05-23 08:18:34