Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / the book that's out

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Mar 2003 02:11
does anyone own the new darkbasic book? the review on amazon (us) doesn't go into very much about what the book offers. i've been considering getting it (since i ask so many stupid questions) just wondering if it is really worth the $. thanx.
Speedhorn
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Mar 2003 02:15
I have it, but i am a 100% complete noob.
It's aimed at people who have no or very little knowledge of darkBASIC. If you have a basic grasp of it, i don't think you'll get much out of it, but if you're a complete noob, i would go for it.

Ralph, Jesus didn't have wheels.
Jeffro
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Mar 2003 00:09
I agree that it is aimed at beginners but it does have a lot of valuable information in it. The final game in the book is an online multiplayer car game so the book does take you up to a fairly good level.

Plus it covers graphics programming and things like Force Feedback. Yes it starts as if you know nothing but it does take you quite a way into game programming.

I am finding it very useful.

It's never as easy as it looks!
Speedhorn
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Mar 2003 19:06
I don't know, but i bet some decent bookshops like Waterstones could order it for you if they haven't got it in, just give them a ring.

Daz
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Mar 2003 19:18
Does it cover DarkBASIC Professional then? If it does it's a must have for me.

DarkBASIC Professional is the best programming utility.
8/10 Housewives agree!
Speedhorn
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Mar 2003 19:37