Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Racing Game Track

Author
Message
Flaming Ghost
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2005
Location: Um...Right here
Posted: 19th Feb 2006 00:13
I want to make a rasing game, I have all of the physics and everything programmed, how can I make the cars detect collision if they're not on a track? The track is two large .x files. One's the track, one's the scenery. How can I make an irregular shaped collision box to detect collision on either the ground, on the scenery?


LIGHT FRENZY (almost done!)
Best Noobish game ever.
Death100
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2006
Location: The underworld
Posted: 19th Feb 2006 12:04
Use object collision() with the car and the track like this:

object colision(car_obj_num, Track_num)

and for the scenery:

object collision(car_obj_num), Scenery_num)

<> <> EVIL....
---
Untitled Space Sim: 10%
Flaming Ghost
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2005
Location: Um...Right here
Posted: 19th Feb 2006 18:32
But that doesn't work doead it? I tried that, but it counts it as collision with my track when I am inside the middle space of the track. (My track is a circle) Do I need to do anything special to make it so it doesn't count it as collision inside the middle of my track?


LIGHT FRENZY (almost done!)
Best Noobish game ever.
gbark
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2005
Location: US - Virginia
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 00:15
You need to set the collision type for your track to polygon type.

Try:
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 10:53
Make a model that defines the non-track part of your scene. Add collision to this model, and also make it invisible so that the user is unaware of it.

Flaming Ghost
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2005
Location: Um...Right here
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 14:59
Quote: "
Add collision to this model
"



How?


LIGHT FRENZY (almost done!)
Best Noobish game ever.
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 15:21
Depends on your preference, skill-level, funds available, patience, and various other factors.

You can use standard collision, as defined in the help files. Or Nuclear Glory (http://www.nuclearglory.com), or Sparky's collision DLL in the DLL Talk forum, or implement a physics system.

You really need to take alook at the options and see what you are comfortable with. I use NGC, others are happy with built-in collision.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-24 17:39:31
Your offset time is: 2024-09-24 17:39:31