Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / pro speed vs DBC

Author
Message
Hobgoblin Lord
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2005
Location: Fall River, MA USA
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 16:09
Hey all,
I have a question here I am working on a game in DBC and notice it can run a little slow depending on the machine i am running it on. I am thinking of changing over to DBpro if it will really speed up the game. Question is, is there really a big difference between the speed in pro and DBC? I ask you to speak from actual experience, perhaps on a game you have run in both, not just the standard Yup. pro is faster. I want to know where it is faster, the game i am making combines 2d and 3d elements the 3d is made from plains roughly 1200-3500 per level.

Thanks in advance

As a side note would it be better just to go right to Dark SDK?
The Nerd
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 16:23 Edited at: 20th Feb 2006 16:25
DarkBasic Pro is faster, but the speed also depends alot on how the programmer makes the code. It dosn't matter if the engine is fast if the programmer makes bad code.

Quote: "As a side note would it be better just to go right to Dark SDK?"


That depends... You need to have somekind of experience with c++ Else it won't be that easy to get started with, or use the features that the darkgame sdk makes available for you.

Free Particle Engine for DarkBasic Pro:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=60141&b=5
General Sephiro
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 17:20
I remember when i just started programming a good few years back, I used to waste memory everywhere from un-needed polygons, to tons of code that could have been shortened down by a few thousand lines

Within one of my current projects to date i'm creating it within DBC and it runs fast even on a Windows 98 computer with only 64 mb Ram, go figure... as The Nerd says, it's all about how you are as a programmer that determines the speed in which your game runs.

A bad garden'r blames his tools as the old saying goes

Van B
Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 18:33
One thing that DBPro does that DBC doesn't is it will automatically hide geometry out of view, so higher polycounts can be used as long as your sensible about how much your showing on screen.

Terrain can be a real performance drag as well, and in DBPro there's a lot more than can be done to keep things smooth, like advanced terrain for instance - DB's matrices are looking a bit dated these days. Really I think that DBPro users don't go back to DBC, it's a nice progression, and writing plugins for DBPro might be a nice way to get your C++ feet wet. With DBPro experience, DSDK would be much easier to grasp.


Van-B

Put away, those fiery biscuits!
Hobgoblin Lord
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2005
Location: Fall River, MA USA
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 19:50 Edited at: 20th Feb 2006 20:02
OK

Actually I have done quite a bit with c++ and have worked with the reaction engine some, most was in making console programs. I avoided matrixes and set individual planes for the ground (and ceiling) so that I only needed to place them where the player could see them and avoid making poly's where they may not be needed. I had tried a matrix first but it was substantially slower. The fact that dbpro autohides geometry makes me think it would probably enhance the performance quite a bit.

Is the format identicle? if i load up my DBC program in DBpro roughly what percentage would I need to change? I am not using collision detection with the objects I instead have an array that knows where you can pass and not as I found this also sped things up for me.



This is the draw routine I have, it draws the map in about 1-2 seconds, each map is laid out on a 30x30 grid and each space has a spot to add a plane for any wall or the ground or ceiling, as well as place an object.

This is the movement routine I am using
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 20th Feb 2006 23:57 Edited at: 20th Feb 2006 23:58
If you know basic C++ it might be good to do the SDK, though I've never tried it. Just don't stick with classic, you'll be ripping your hair out. The syntax is identical, you just might need to change some commands as they may work a little differently (that is, more efficiently).


I'm going to eat you!
SimSmall
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 23rd Feb 2006 16:24
Quote: "DarkBasic Pro is faster, but the speed also depends alot on how the programmer makes the code. It dosn't matter if the engine is fast if the programmer makes bad code."


I will personally vouch for this...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-23 12:39:45
Your offset time is: 2025-05-23 12:39:45