Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Programming languages: Reusing Code

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm considering getting into programming, I used BASIC some 20 years ago (started on a Pet Commodore 16k, before moving onto Amstrad CPC464 and finally Turbobasic on the Commodore 64). I did very simple little programs, my best probably being one where you ran a hotdog stall.

I read a book on JAVA and C++ and to be quite honest I experienced both excitement and alarm. Excitement at the possibilities of reusing your old code so easily, and alarm at the number of lines it took to print "Hello World".

I suppose at heart I'm a BASIC programmer (tainted some might say). But I do worry about the advantages and disadvantages of this vs that, with particular reference to reusing your hard earned code and adding to existing code.

I would welcome comments by people who have experience of C++/Java/Python etc and whether they think I might be better to go into the OOP route.

Also DBCvDBP. I have the resources to run either, my programming probly won't delve too deeply into 3D so would DBC be better for a newbie?
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Mar 2006 23:02
mho's

dbc vs dbp = dbp

oop vs procedural = oop

Having said that, if you don't already know c++ then you will be taking some time to learn before you can even approach making a game. If you have experience in basic then dbp might be a perfect place to start. Also the DGSDK allows c++/oop coders to use the DX wrappers that are dbp by using them as libs.