Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / R.O.B.O.I. - Programmable Robot Strategy Game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Mar 2006 03:22 Edited at: 18th Mar 2006 06:15
March 17 EDIT:
Download the playable Alpha here! http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_download.php?i=815479
===================================

This is my third attempt at this game I've been envisioning for over five years. My first attempt was in 2004 and after I lost the source in a hard drive crash, I didn't touch it again until 2005, where I began building a 3D version in DBP.

Finally I've settled down with using PlayBasic as it's fast to develop with and requires less memory overhead.

The premise of this game is a foundation for logical thinking--- a great starting point for kids to learn about programming. Don't let this turn off any of you who are adults (like myself), as most of the levels are simply *not* as easy as they look and require a great deal of thought.

You have R.O.B.O.I. (ROBOI Obeys Basic Operational Instructions) who contains 16 slots for microchips. Each microchip is a single move (i.e. up 1x, rotate 90 deg. clockwise, pick up, etc.) There is also support for loops with parentheses--- think *big* levels ). Each level contains a task like pick up the disk, put it into the terminal, and exit. The levels can be solved using the microchips on hand, and each level starts you off with different levels of chips. For example the first level doesn't give you any ways to move backward or loop control, forcing you to be creative.