Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / help me! realistic Space in 3d

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
how to make realistic space in 3d???

background, several planet, star and ship (first player view)
roswell
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Mar 2006 18:56 Edited at: 13th Mar 2006 18:57
I'm a newbie myself, but perhaps you could just make a skybox/skysphere that has the elements you want on it and affix your player in the middle of it. The great thing about space is that it's so vast you could travel for YEARS without objects appearing any closer.

To add a bit of realism, you could create some space "dust". I'm not sure exactly how to do that, but I would think you could create an invisible particle emitter some distance in front of the player so that no matter which way they turned the "dust" would be "blowing" in the right direction.

'Just one game,' they said, and started to play. That was yesterday.

Dual Athlon 2.0/1GB RAM/GeForce Ti4200-128/WinXP Pro
DB newbie
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Mar 2006 21:16 Edited at: 14th Mar 2006 04:54
maybe you can use a very high poly realistic space skybox and scroll the texture slowly like when you do water.

Check out my site!(unfinished)
http://www.freewebs.com/dbnewbie/
Gil Galvanti
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Mar 2006 04:19
@Roswell: Your a newbie and you joined in 2002 ?

Quote: "maybe you can sue "

lol, took me a minute to realize what you meant, that you meant use .