Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Terrain w/out editor.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi everyone!
Im new to DarkBasic, I've read some tutorials and gone trough some post, but I have a question..
Terrain is like a level right (like a floor), anyways if it is how do I make one? I found this Command "MAKE TERRAIN Terrain Number, Heightmap Filename" BUT whats the Heightmap Filename.
I know you can make levels with editors but is there anyway to make them without an editor?

Um...
driftman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Mar 2006 04:33
a heightmap is a bitmap that is a gray scle representation of the terrain, with black being the lowest point and white being the highest point.
you make the heightmap for yourself, then you use make terrain command like this:

just remember that the heightmap can have any name you want.

I have a lil' white jacket that lets me hug myself forever.
Sk8ing Link08
Years of Service
User Offline
Um... So if I make a bitman(sp?) thats all black I'll have a flat surface, but if I make a line of black then a line of gray then a line of black then a line of gray and so on... I'll have speed bumps?
Anyways THANKS!! really helpfull.

Um...
Sk8ing Link08
Years of Service
User Offline
Um... "Runtime Error 7126 - Could not create terrain at line 1"
I made a .bmp and just colored it all black, I also tried it with other gray colors but I got the same message.
This is my code: (How do you make Code Snippet?)
MAKE TERRAIN 1, "LINK.bmp"
WAIT KEY
One more thing.. is there any way to get more shades of gray in MicrosoftPaint?

Um...
Sk8ing Link08
Years of Service
User Offline
Its me again!(Sorry but DarkBasic gets me all hiped up!)