Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Mar 2003 19:58
Hi, I have a huge interest in game design and I was curious to know is DB as easy as it claims to be? I have experience in C++, so programming really isnt that tough for me, is it also safe to assume that DB has some relationship with VB?

Also, if I started programming in DB, is DirectX programming still required?

Thx.
Critter
Megaman Zero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Mar 2003 20:23
I cant answere that question for you, I have very little experience in C++, & even less in VB, but most of the text commands are like QBasic from what I can see, the 3d commands I think, are in their own catagory (I think, but not sure.) They call "Dark Basic" that because its a scripting language (may even be in its own catagory.) Thats the way I saw it, but I am the one who is wrong 40% of the time.

Try this, go here...

http://www.darkbasic.com

And click on the create tab, then click on the Online 3D Tutorials link. Then you can start reading over their code & it may help you to decide what you think on the subject (as well as it being helpfull to start out on. ^^")

Critter
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Mar 2003 20:32
Alright, thanks a lot.

I do feel somewhat ignorant because I havent had much time to fully read over the site.

So what is the difference between DarkBasic and DarkBasic Pro? (again, not much time to read over the site completely)

Megaman Zero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Mar 2003 20:40