Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
Megaman Zero
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 20th Mar 2003 23:20
Ok, I know how to make a menu, but what I dont know, is if you can create a window for the panels. Im trying to make a character select to give to DBPro (a tutorial), & I need to know how to make a panel with a clear part in it, a sort of window, that will show a 3D model of the character, so the player can customize it.

Before I can start to make the code, I need to know 2 things, this, & the character animations. I want a certain animation loop to play while the player selects his character properties (like a standing & breathing animation.) I have another post for the animation in this same "Beginners Board", if someone can help me out, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thx,
Moggie100
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2002
Location: Behind You...
Posted: 20th Mar 2003 23:48
*SPRITE METHOD*
Right, if you're using sprites for your pannels this is quite simple. All you have to do is leave the area on the pannel where you want the model to be empty and fill it in black, the you can simply load up the player model and point the camera so that the object shows though the balck area.

*CAMERA VIEW METHOD*
This is slightly more complex, in that you tell dark basic to draw the sprites to the back thereby showing the 3D on top, thus allowing you to show your model on top of the pannel - eliminating the need for a blacked out part of the panel.
There are 2 ways to do this method, both are described below.

1- You can load the character into the 3D world and point the camera in the right direction so that the character is in the right place in from of the panel. This is crude but it can be made to look good with some tweaking.

2- This is the more refined version - using the 'SET CAMERA VIEW' command you can place the viewport of the camera onto the screen at any position you like. For this you load the character model into the 3D world and set the camera to point at the model, (You can use set camera to follow and have an incrementing angle if you want the character to turn in the camera's view) then you type the 'SET CAMERA VIEW' and specify on the screen where you want the camera to draw to just before your main loop (there is no need to re-state the 'SET CAMERA VIEW' command in every loop unless you want to re-size it at any point)
Et Voila! one character model demo window on a pannel.

I will whack out some code and post it here for you to see how all the methods described above work.

(ask if u want anything in more detail )

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Animations*

What help do you want with these exactly?

Megaman Zero
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 21st Mar 2003 10:26
Thanks for the help, I guess I will start playing around with the cameras & MSPaint now. One more question for now, do you know of any good camera tutorials that I can get a link to? I really want to play around with them anyway, making multiple views for each type of game possible.

Thx again,

Moggie100
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2002
Location: Behind You...
Posted: 21st Mar 2003 17:29
Erm. there probably are, but I dont know of them. I have however made a tutorial source code for the 'SET CAMERA VIEW' command for you to show you how to do it. I'll post it once I get to my computer cos I'm at school now.

Cyas l8r

Megaman Zero
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 21st Mar 2003 20:03
Thanks for all the help. I will look forward to looking at your tutorial. I have been meaning to play with camera's, because one of my game ideas requires me to have a postal view.

Thx again,

Moggie100
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2002
Location: Behind You...
Posted: 23rd Mar 2003 00:32
OOPS! when I treid out the code I realised that you do need to hae a blank space in the pnnel to show the 3D view, because you need to use 2 cameras!

Anyway, I'm sure you'll be able to understand this:


*The 2nd option I suggested - in code*


BTW, I assume that you're using DBP...

Megaman Zero
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 23rd Mar 2003 10:41
Great, thanks! Now I have a few questions about it.

1. Do I have to write my own model import code (I know how to, but I dont want to waste the effort if its already there.)

2. I am still in my learning phase, tell me, would I load the model right after the matrix of the bmp section?

3. Any part of my bmp that is completely black (RGB 0,0,0) will be invisible, do I understand this right?

4. In this line of code I am about to place, would this be the area where I would change the values to put my window in?




5. And Finaly, if I take this next line of code out, will the project still function properly?



Thanks for all of the help!!

Megaman Zero
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 23rd Mar 2003 11:14
Forgot one question. The line command that is stated like this...



How does this work specificaly? Last time I used the line command, it went down, right, up, left, or something like that (I dont remember, too long ago.) Is this the same, or is it a different order, or how does it specificaly work (I know it draws a line, but I want to know more technical data on it, like how it works (i.e. first number is down, left, right, or up, or something completely different. )

Thx again,

Xoid
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2003
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2003 17:50
hope this helps!

Line Left,Top,Right,Bottom
Megaman Zero
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 24th Mar 2003 04:26 Edited at: 24th Mar 2003 04:28
So would it start out like this...
1st

<----start

or like this...

2nd
^
|
|
Start

Thx,

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 06:03:03
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 06:03:03