Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Making A 2D Platform Game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, Im new to DB and i was wondering if someone could tell me of a tutorial about making a 2D platform game, im planning to make a mario-type game, any tutorials/guides would help greatly!
Thanks.
BaZko
Years of Service
User Offline
Maybe you should learn how to use the language first. Im not sure if their is a tutorial specifically for this, but Im sure you could put it together if you studied the 2d functions.

Laak
Years of Service
User Offline
yeah, it would help if you figured out some basic stuff first, but there are some things you may want to consider when making 2d platform games.

`possibly externally created terrain written in a .dat file
`cloned sprites for tile terrain and blocks
`external loading for AI of computer characters

this is just some stuff i have been contemplating. but i recommend just messing around with easy stuff first
TEH_CODERER
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Apr 2006 17:05
It may sound strange but when I made a 2D platformer I made it in 3D! I found it easier with animations and collision. It ended up being 2D in gameplay but 3D in graphics. If you are happy to go with this idea then let me know and I'll try and help a bit more.

[url]andrewneale2004@yahoo.com[/url]
http://www.elbsoftware.dbspot.com
Jerok
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 01:59
there is a great 2d shoot em up tutorial on the 2d forum stickyed at the top

http://www.ebaumsworldsucks.com/(not my site or my movie)
zenassem
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 23:02 Edited at: 20th Apr 2006 23:07