Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Camera help pleeez

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi

im new to darkbasic and i understand some basic manouvers such as loading terrain and objects, and controlling them with the keypad. but i am having trouble with cameras. i have loaded an object and i want to make the camera follow the object around whilst the object moving. i tried adding cameras but i just end up with a green screen????

thnx jp
Twu Kai
Years of Service
User Offline
You can use this:

the command is the "set camera to follow object position x(1),object position y(1),object position z(1),object angle y(1),500,150,30,0" command.

Join The Clan! http://www.torak.info

Desteya colatiata hethayas thorian helltastha lutanithan atelthuron ilonthes!
RUCCUS
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Apr 2006 16:28 Edited at: 29th Apr 2006 17:46
First off its always nice to post what language you're using. Ill answer using DBP methods as I've never used DBC before.

Every single DBP app (unless specified otherwise) always has a camera to begin with right when a single 3D command is called (loading an object, creating one, etc.). This camera's number is 0.

Making cameras will only create cameras and positio them at 0,0,0, if you want a camera to follow an object around you have to program this yourself (or use the set camera to follow object command, but Ill explain using something else as you wont learn much from that.)

So, we've established that there is no need to create another camera as there is automatically one in the game labelled 0. First, lets setup a basic program with a camera looking at an object from above/behind: