Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / nOOB in search of answers

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm a web/flash developer that just picked up darkbasic. I was attracted by it's ease of use(i.e. I'm a multimedia designer not really a programmer). Right now I'm trying to set up a game similar to animal crossing or Harvest Moon. Something more about social living than a kill spree. Does any super intelligent computer nerd on this forum have ANY suggestions on how to go about starting this??? I'm at square-zero right now with a crappy previous flash moch-up and a sketch pad full of drawings.

Any sort of small game source code examples will help. or any URL's tuorials, etc....just need to be pointed in the right direction.

THanks GUYS!!!!
RUCCUS
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th May 2006 19:59
Oh... so you're calling us all nerds, great way to start off on the forums

Anyways, your best bet is to look into learning the very basics before you concider starting on an Animal Crossing game, since you havent provided any details on your past experience with DBP (Have you read any tutoriasl, have you made any simple programs, etc?), Ill write the next "step list" assumming you've literally just picked up DBP and posted this.

1. Read over the tutorials that come with DBP
2. Complete the example programs that come with DBP.
3. Look at the stickied thread at the top of the Newcommers Corner board called "Tonnes of Tutorials for Newcommers", and complete as many of them as you can. If you get bored, move onto another.
4. Make a few basic games of your own, nothing big, perhaps running around dodging boxes, or completing a maze, something of that nature.