Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / what did i do?

Author
Message
Lukas W
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 20th May 2006 13:50 Edited at: 20th May 2006 13:50
Hey,

i was compiling a code of mine when i got this error:

Quote: "Parameter Mismatch. sync expects no parameters at line 18"


line 18: Sync On



what did i do wrong?!!?oneoen

my forum - now partly finished
Pincho Paxton
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 20th May 2006 13:55
Maybe you used the number zero instead of 'On' you put '0n'

Video Boy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th May 2006 13:55
Did you use Sync before line 18?
Lukas W
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 20th May 2006 14:06 Edited at: 20th May 2006 14:09
Quote: "
`---------------------------------------------------------------------
` SETUP APPLICATION
`---------------------------------------------------------------------
Sync Rate 60 : ` Set the Refresh rate to 60 frames per secound
Sync On : ` Turn manual refreshing of screen ON
Randomize Timer() : ` Randomize the Timer()
Hide Mouse : ` Hide the mouse for the upcoming Intro
"

(line 14-20)

it works with an older version of the same file.

what i did was:
* search for STARTMENU, replace it with menuStart.
* compiled, got this error
* seached for menuStart replaced with STARTMENU
* compiled, same error

edit,
when i remove "sync on" and compile, i get the error:
Quote: "Parameter mismatch. Array must have atleast one subscript at line 55"


line 55: for x = 0 to 255 step 5 : r = x : set gamma r,r,r : next x

where is the array in that line?!

my forum - now partly finished
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 20th May 2006 14:11
I dunno, but I usually put sync rate after sync on, perhaps thats the problem?

Yey! I removed the sig...
A Llama called Dalai
Lukas W
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 20th May 2006 14:18 Edited at: 20th May 2006 14:25
no, you see i wrote this and it worked just fine.
then i was going to change the name of a label and after that, it didn't compile. i switched back and it still doesn't compile

edit,
i found the problem i think... but i dont understand how and why this can be the problem.. it compiles fine now:

Quote: "GLOBAL PLAYERLIFE : ` to compile, you need DarkEDIT with globals turned on"


should be:

Quote: "` to compile, you need DarkEDIT with globals turned on
GLOBAL PLAYERLIFE"


my forum - now partly finished
Pincho Paxton
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 20th May 2006 14:47
I was just about to say that.

Lukas W
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 20th May 2006 14:50
do you know what the connection between Arrays and Sync On is?
because i am still confused why it gave me an error on Sync On when writing a comment on the same line as an array

my forum - now partly finished
Pincho Paxton
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 20th May 2006 15:44
I think it's the : that waits for a command due to some sort of inbuilt programming. You never supply a command so the cache is probably in some sort of wait mode. A bit like a Gosub Return that never uses the return due to an Exit command in the middle.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-25 04:02:17
Your offset time is: 2025-05-25 04:02:17